Videos

Recycled Island - Litter Trap Brussels

In collaboration with Audi Brussels and the Port of Brussels a Litter Trap has been installed in the Charleroi Canal in Brussels by the Audi Environmental Foundation and its project partners in March 2019.

We4bee

We4bee will permanently loan a total of 100 beehives equipped with high-tech sensors to participating schools or other teaching institutions as well as to beekeepers. The online data transmission will create a network of beehives. An app enables continuous access to the measurement results and live data from all bee colonies.

One Young World

The Audi Environmental Foundation wants to contribute to the creation of a network between economy, science and motivated young thinkers and at best facilitate knowledge transfer. The exchange with the young leaders and researchers has enriched the Audi Environmental Foundations mission to support research into new technologies and scientific methods for a livable future.

Publications

Exploring the world of the bee

How are honeycombs built? What is the purpose of the bee dance? How does the bee colony super-organism operate? This and other questions about the honey bee (apis mellifera) are answered by Audi Environmental Foundation GmbH and the bee researcher Prof. Jürgen Tautz in their now published book „Die Erforschung der Bienenwelt“ (Exploring the World of the Bee). It sheds new light on the world of this insect species - from swarming right up to the environmental influences to which it is exposed.

The bee is the third most important working animal for man and an endangered animal species. Therefore Audi Environmental Foundation GmbH together with the bee researcher Prof. Jürgen Tautz are committed to bringing people closer to this creature.

The 80-page book, published by Klett MINT, is aimed at all people who are interested in bees. It is based on, among other things, the scientific findings of the interactive HOBOS (HOneyBee Online Studies) project, which has been created by the Würzburg bee research scientist Prof. Jürgen Tautz. For this project, he constructed an online-based laboratory with video cameras, thermal imaging cameras and sensors, in which he used selected aspects to research the world of bees.

Unfortunately, you cannot order this book anymore. Please be advised to write us an E-mail and we will inform you if there will be another run.

E-Book „Exploring the world of honeybee“ for download

Download
Book for young readers - “Abenteuer Leben-Natur-Technik” (Adventure - Life, Nature and Technology)

Book published for young researchers

The design of winglets on airplanes was taken from the eagle, modern cargo ships are powered by wind and the migration of whales is monitored by satellite. These and many other links between nature and technology are explained to young researchers by Audi Environmental Foundation GmbH in their book “Abenteuer - Leben Natur Technik” ("Adventure - Life Nature Technology"). The focus of the book is just as much on the origins and examples of modern technology as it is on the sustainable management of our earth’s resources.

What impact does technology have on our life?

The book contains exciting examples of the interplay between nature and technology. With impressive illustrations and easy-to-understand text, it is aimed at young researchers and should motivate them to think and investigate. The book not only provides a view of the past and the present, but also ventures a look ahead to the future challenges that we face as a result of the continuous urbanization and the growing world population.

Presented at the Frankfurt Book Fair, the 80-page book describes everyday phenomena and the hidden natural bases of their technology. In 27 sections, young readers between the ages of nine and twelve learn to better understand the world and find clear answers to complex questions such as “Is the half-pipe a perpetual motion machine?”, “What do bees have to do with airplanes and houses?” or “Technology - friend or enemy of the environment?”. The book makes a contribution to environmental education and raises the awareness of children about environmental and technological topics.

Unfortunately, this book is already out of print. Thank you for all your interest.

Bee-research news for STEM education

Exciting assignments with practical relevance

The publication „Aktuelles aus der Bienenforschung für den MINT-Unterricht” (The Latest News from Bee Research for STEM Education) is a teachers’ manual with worksheets. Tailored to the STEM subjects, the publication provides exciting assignments with practical relevance on the topic of bees, in the overall context of “research-based learning”, thereby taking the national curricula into account. The book was introduced at the didacta Education Trade Fair in Hannover at the end of February, 2015. (Grades 7-10 with differentiation)

Ideas and worksheets for your lessons

Generations of biologists have been captivated by the bee as a research object. Your students know bees from their direct encounters with them and from a variety of media. Biology is the subject, in which bees are traditionally covered. However, modern research methods and their findings also provide a variety of reference points for assignments in your Chemistry, Physics, Math and IT lessons. By working through appropriate assignments, your students will discover the relevance of their theoretically acquired skills.

Unfortunately, this book is already out of print. Thank you for all your interest.

Filme

Recycled Island - Litter Trap Brüssel

Gemeinsam mit Audi Brussels und dem Hafen von Brüssel haben die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt und ihr Projektpartner, die Recycled Island Foundation im März 2019 eine Litter Trap im Charleroi Kanal in Brüssel installiert.

We4bee

we4bee wird ab Mitte April bis September insgesamt 100 mit HighTech-Sensorik ausgestatte Bienenstöcke als Dauerleihgabe an teilnehmende Schulen oder weitere Lehreinrichtungen und Imker ausgeben. Durch die Datenübertragung via Internet entsteht so ein Netzwerk von Bienenstöcken. Eine App ermöglicht jederzeit Zugriff auf die Messergebnisse und Live-Daten aller Bienenvölker.

One Young World

Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt plant eine langfristige und nachhaltige Partnerschaft mit ihren One Young World Scholars. Neben der Teilnahme am One Young World Summit werden ausgewählte Projekte der Stipendiaten gefördert und die Stipendiaten bei der Weiterentwicklung ihres Projekts betreut. Abgestimmt auf die Ausrichtung der Stiftung, liegt der Fokus der von den Stipendiaten entwickelten Projekten auf Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitsthemen.

Smart HOBOS Bienenstock

Der Smart HOBOS besteht aus einem freigebauten Bienennest und einem 360 Grad schwenkbaren Roboterarm, der mit Infrarot- und Wärmebildkameras sowie zahlreichen weiteren Messsonden ausgestattet ist.

Publikationen

Die Erforschung der Bienenwelt

Wie werden Waben gebaut? Was hat es mit dem Bienentanz auf sich? Und wie funktioniert der Superorganismus Bienenvolk? Diese und weitere Fragen rund um die Honigbiene (apis mellifera) beantworten die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt GmbH und der Bienenforscher Prof. Jürgen Tautz in ihrem jetzt veröffentlichten Buch „Die Erforschung der Bienenwelt“. Es beleuchtet neue Erkenntnisse über die Welt dieser Insektenart – vom Ausschwärmen bis hin zu den Umwelteinflüssen, denen sie ausgesetzt ist.

Die Biene ist das drittwichtigste Nutztier des Menschen und eine bedrohte Tierart. Deshalb engagieren sich die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt GmbH zusammen mit dem Bienenforscher Prof. Jürgen Tautz dafür, den Menschen dieses Lebewesen näher zu bringen.

Das 80-seitige Buch, erschienen im Klett MINT Verlag, richtet sich an alle Bieneninteressierten. Es basiert unter anderem auf wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen des interaktiven Projekts HOBOS (HOneyBee Online Studies), das der Würzburger Bienenforscher Prof. Jürgen Tautz ins Leben gerufen hat. Dafür baute er ein onlinebasiertes Labor mit Video-, Wärmebildkameras und Sensoren auf, in dem er anhand ausgewählter Aspekte die Welt der Bienen erforscht.

Leider sind bereits alle Bücher vergriffen. Wir bedanken uns für das große Interesse. Gerne können Sie uns eine E-Mail schicken und wir informieren Sie, falls es eine erneute Auflage geben wird.

E-Book „Die Erforschung der Bienenwelt“ zum Download

Download
Jugendbuch Abenteuer Leben-Natur-Technik

Jugendbuch für Nachwuchsforscher veröffentlicht

Die Winglets am Flugzeug stammen vom Adler, moderne Frachter fahren mit Windkraft und die Wanderung der Wale wird per Satellit überwacht: Diese und viele weitere Zusammenhänge zwischen Natur und Technik erklärt die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt GmbH Nachwuchsforschern in ihrem Jugendbuch „Abenteuer – Leben Natur Technik“. Dabei steht die Frage nach den Ursprüngen und Vorbildern moderner Technologien ebenso im Fokus wie der nachhaltige Umgang mit den Ressourcen unserer Erde.

 
Welchen Einfluss hat die Technik auf unser Leben?

Im Buch befinden sich spannende Beispiele für die Wechselwirkung von Natur und Technik. Eindrucksvoll bebildert und verständlich geschrieben, richtet es sich an junge Forscher und soll sie zum Nachdenken und Nachforschen anregen. Dabei bietet das Buch nicht nur einen Blick in Vergangenheit und Gegenwart, sondern wagt auch eine Aussicht auf künftige Herausforderungen, die die stetige Urbanisierung und die wachsende Weltbevölkerung mit sich bringen.

Auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse präsentiert, stellt das 80-seitige Buch Alltagsphänomene und ihre verborgenen Technikvorbilder aus der Natur vor. Die jungen Leser zwischen neun und zwölf Jahren lernen so in 27 Rubriken die Welt besser zu verstehen und finden klare Antworten auf komplexe Fragestellungen wie „Ist die Halfpipe ein Perpetuum mobile?“, „Was haben Bienen mit Flugzeugen und Häusern zu tun?“ oder „Technik – Freund oder Feind der Umwelt?“. Das Buch trägt somit zur Umwelt-Erziehung bei und sensibilisiert die Kinder für Umwelt- und Technikthemen.

Leider sind bereits alle Bücher vergriffen. Wir bedanken uns für das große Interesse.

Aktuelles aus der Bienenforschung für den MINT-Unterricht

Spannende Aufgaben mit Praxisbezug

Bei dem Titel „Aktuelles aus der Bienenforschung für den MINT-Unterricht" – handelt es sich um eine Lehrerhandreichung mit Unterrichtsvorlagen. Abgestimmt auf die MINT-Fächer bietet das Werk im Gesamtkontext „forschendes Lernen“ unter Berücksichtigung der bundesweiten Lehrpläne spannende Aufgabenstellungen mit Praxisbezug rund um das Thema Bienen. Der Titel wurde auf der didacta 2015, Ende Februar in Hannover vorgestellt. (Klassenstufen 7-10 mit Differenzierung)

Ideen und Arbeitsblätter für Ihren Unterricht

Die Biene hat als Forschungsobjekt Generationen von Biologen in ihren Bann gezogen. Ihre Schülerinnen und Schüler kennen Bienen aus der direkten Begegnung und aus den verschiedensten Medien. Die Biene wird traditionell im Fach Biologie behandelt. Moderne Forschungsmethoden und deren Ergebnisse bieten aber auch für die Fächer Chemie, Physik, Mathematik und Informatik eine Vielzahl von Anknüpfungspunkten für Aufgabenstellungen in Ihrem Unterricht. Ihre Schülerinnen und Schüler erkennen bei der Bearbeitung von entsprechenden Aufgaben die Relevanz ihrer theoretisch erworbenen Fähigkeiten.

Leider sind bereits alle Bücher vergriffen. Wir bedanken uns für das große Interesse.