Sustainable raw material extraction for strategic metals: Project for the mining of the future

Freiberg University of Mining and Technology (TU Bergakademie Freiberg) is investigating the environmentally friendly extraction and processing of valuable resources using membrane technology underground. The Audi Environmental Foundation is promoting this innovative mining approach.

06/08/2020 Reading Time: 2 min

Challenges concerning raw materials policy require new solutions

The EU report for strategic elements forecasts that the technology metals indium and germanium will experience the second-largest and third-largest increase in demand by 2030, respectively. In addition, numerous metallic raw materials, such as copper, cobalt, nickel, and lithium as well as rare earths are finite in their availability. They are required for many future technologies, including electric mobility.

Another challenge is that resources can mostly be found only in a few countries, meaning that they are distributed unevenly throughout the world and are complicated to access. Moreover, mining activities involve massive negative environmental effects and therefore it is difficult for them to find acceptance.
Reason enough to establish environmentally friendly and alternative extraction methods for securing raw materials.

Sustainable underground extraction of raw materials with membrane technology

The project partner, the Institute of Thermal-, Environmental- and Resources’ Process Engineering at Freiberg University of Mining and Technology has developed a procedure, which makes a contribution toward the environmentally friendly and sustainable extraction of high-tech elements, such as indium and germanium.

The sustainable and energy-efficient raw material extraction processes combines a hybrid membrane separation process with microbiological leaching. It is used directly underground in the research and training mine “Reiche Zeche”, i.e. in-situ.

The microinvasive extraction procedure begins at a depth of 142 meters with a leaching pathway that leads directly into the ore vein. There, using micro organisms that occur naturally in the mine, metal ions are excavated out of the ore. This results in a metal-rich solution, which is directed into the membrane system. The system separates the microorganisms and directs them back  to the leaching process according to the principle of a circular economy. In addition, the membrane system also ensures the selective fractionation and concentration of the desired ions. The objective of this process is to accumulate indium and germanium from a multi-component mixture.

These two strategic metals are required for high-tech products, such as flat monitors, touchscreens, navigation systems, fiber optic technology, computer chips, photovoltaic systems, and plain bearings for automobiles.
In the future, the process will also be used for the sustainable extraction of other elements such as cobalt in other deposits.

Micro-invasive mining of raw materials as a sustainable, environmentally friendly alternative.

The newly developed technology of microinvasive mining has the objective of preventing or reducing the negative consequences of conventional mining and the subsequent processing steps to a minimum. This method is applied without the use of heavy machinery. It can also be used to extract ores with a very low metal content and secondary raw materials and can be used at various (former) mining locations with the use of the existing infrastructure. The procedure is environmentally friendly, sustainable, and promises not to damage the landscape. It saves resources because it works in line with the circular economy. This application of technology saves our resources because it works in line with the principle of a circular economy. It helps to shape a more livable environment. “This is a project, which develops a new, environmentally friendly technology in order to extract important resources. This corresponds exactly with our greenovation approach,” says Dr. Rüdiger Recknagel, Managing Director of the Audi Environmental Foundation. It makes us less dependent on exports and thus increases supply security.

The Institute for Mining and Special Civil Engineering at the Freiberg University of Mining and Technology is preparing the infrastructure of the leaching pathway on the first level of the research mine. The institute for Bio sciences cultivates the micro organisms. The research cooperation is initially scheduled to run for two years.

Nachhaltige Rohstoffgewinnung für strategische Metalle: Projekt zum Bergbau der Zukunft

Die TU Bergakademie Freiberg untersucht die umweltschonende und nachhaltige Rohstoffgewinnung von strategischen Metallen mittels Membrantechnik unter Tage. Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt fördert diesen innovativen Bergbau-Ansatz.

08.06.2020 Lesezeit: 2 min

Rohstoffpolitische Herausforderungen erfordern neue Lösungen

Der EU-Report für strategische Elemente prognostiziert für die Technologiemetalle Indium und Germanium bis 2030 die zweit- bzw. drittgrößte Nachfragesteigerung. Daneben sind zahlreiche metallische Rohstoffe wie etwa Kupfer, Kobalt, Nickel, Lithium sowie Seltene Erden in ihrem Vorkommen endlich. Sie werden für viele Zukunftstechnologien, darunter auch die Elektromobilität, benötigt.
Eine weitere Herausforderung ist, dass Primärrohstoffe meist nur in wenigen Ländern vorkommen, damit weltweit ungleichmäßig verteilt und schlecht zugänglich sind. Darüber hinaus ziehen bergbauliche Aktivitäten massive negative Umweltauswirkungen nach sich und werden somit nur schwer akzeptiert. Grund genug, umweltfreundliche und alternative Gewinnungsmethoden zur Rohstoffsicherung zu etablieren.

Mit Membrantechnik nachhaltig unter Tage Rohstoffe gewinnen

Der Projektpartner, das Institut für Thermische Verfahrenstechnik, Umwelt- und Naturstoffverfahrenstechnik der TU Bergakademie Freiberg hat ein Verfahren entwickelt, das einen Beitrag zur umweltfreundlichen und nachhaltigen Gewinnung von strategischen Metallen wie Indium und Germanium leistet.

Das nachhaltige und energieeffiziente Rohstoffgewinnungsverfahren kombiniert einen hybriden Membrantrennprozess mit mikrobiologischer Laugung. Es wird direkt unter Tage im Forschungsbergwerk, also in-situ, angewendet.

Das mikroinvasive Gewinnungsverfahren beginnt mit einer direkt in den Erzgang führenden Laugungsstrecke. Dort werden mittels der im Bergwerk natürlich vorkommenden Mikroorganismen Metall-Ionen aus dem Erz herausgelöst. Daraus entsteht eine metallreiche Lösung, welche der in 142 Meter Tiefe aufgestellten Membrananlage zugeführt wird. Die Anlage trennt schließlich die Mikroorganismen und führt diese gemäß einer Kreislaufwirtschaft wieder dem Laugungsprozess zu. Daneben sorgt die Membrananlage auch für die selektive Aufteilung und Aufkonzentrierung der gewünschten Ionen. Ziel dieses Prozesses ist es, aus einem Multikomponenten Gemisch Indium und Germanium anzureichern.

Diese beiden strategischen Metalle sind notwendig für Hightech-Produkte wie Flachbildschirme, Touchscreens, Navigationssysteme, Glasfasertechnologie, Computerchips, Photovoltaikanlagen und Gleitlager von Automobilen.
Zukünftig soll das Verfahren auch bei der nachhaltigen Rohstoffgewinnung weiterer Elemente wie etwa Kobalt in anderen Lagerstätten zur Anwendung kommen.

Mikroinvasiver Rohstoffabbau als nachhaltige, umweltschonende Alternative

Die neu entwickelte Technologie des mikroinvasiven Abbaus zielt darauf ab, die negativen Folgeerscheinungen des konventionellen Bergbaus und der folgenden Aufbereitungsschritte zu verhindern beziehungsweise auf ein Minimum zu reduzieren. Diese Methode kommt ganz ohne den Einsatz von Schwermaschinen aus. Sie kann auch für die Gewinnung von Erzen mit sehr geringem Metallgehalt und Sekundärrohstoffen angewandt werden sowie an verschiedenen (Alt-)Bergbau-Standorten mit Nutzung der bestehenden Infrastruktur. Das Verfahren ist umweltschonend und verspricht keinerlei Landschaftsschäden. Es ist ressourcenschonend, da es im Sinne der Kreislaufwirtschaft funktioniert. Das gestaltet unsere Umwelt lebenswerter. „Das ist ein Projekt, das eine neue umweltschonende Technologie zur Gewinnung von wichtigen Ressourcen entwickelt. Das entspricht genau unserem Ansatz von Greenovation“, sagt Dr. Rüdiger Recknagel, Geschäftsführer der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt. Es stärkt die Importunabhängigkeit und erhöht damit die Versorgungssicherheit.

Das Institut für Bergbau und Spezialtiefbau der TU Bergakademie Freiberg stellt auf der ersten Sohle des Forschungsbergwerks die Infrastruktur der Laugungsstrecke bereit. Das Institut für Biowissenschaften kultiviert die Mikroorganismen. Die Forschungskooperation ist zunächst auf zwei Jahre angelegt.