Second Life Battery Research – Another Project Milestone is Piloted

The first Nunam power storage systems based on used laptop batteries have been distributed and are proving their worth in everyday use. They are robust, quiet and easy to handle. That is what the early feedback from the users tells us. The state of Uttar Pradesh in India is subject to frequent power failures, so there is great demand for new uses and applications to be developed for 2nd life storage batteries satisfying higher standards with regard to efficiency, performance and service life.

03/04/2021 Reading Time: 2 min

One widespread and suitable application for these are so-called nanogrids, which in developing countries are usually operated with lead-acid batteries. They supply current for a whole road with up to 50 shops, restaurants and grocers. However, not only do lead-acid batteries have a negative impact on the environment; they are also unfavorable in terms of handling. For example, they are less stable in their performance (discharge current and energy density), require intense maintenance and have a high transport weight combined with a short service life.

And so the idea was born as another milestone to manufacture an environmentally friendly 2nd life solar nanogrid on the basis of used e-tron battery modules and to test it in everyday use.

This is characterized by the following performance parameters and advantages: 24V direct current and 5 kWh system capacity. The service life is 10-15 years with a moderate rate of use and the charge and discharge state of the batteries is IoT connected. This allows it to be tracked using a SIM card and app. The new “2nd life storage battery” based on two used e-tron battery modules can thus replace four old lead-acid batteries in a nanogrid.

The first prototype of the “Nunam Solar Nanogrid” is currently being tested by an “energy entrepreneur” in Uttar Pradesh. For a small fee of 4 rupees per day (0.06 euros), small traders can purchase the new, sustainable power from a local energy supplier.

The new Nunam Solar Nanogrid allows up to 50 merchants to ply their trade, even at night. With immediate effect it is supplying a whole street with green electricity every evening, fully independent of the grid. This is generated during the day from solar energy and stored for later use.

Second-life battery: Green power from used batteries

Enthusiasm 08/25/2020

Second-life battery: Green power from used batteries

Green power: Used laptop batteries become mobile power storages – Audi Environmental Foundation supports second-life battery research of start-up Nunam.

Read more

Second Life Batterie Forschung – ein weiterer Projektmeilenstein wird pilotiert

Die ersten nunam Power Storage Systeme basierend auf alten Laptop Akkus sind verteilt und bewähren sich in ihrem täglichen Einsatz. Sie sind robust, leise und leicht im Handling, soweit das erste Feedback der Nutzer. Da die Region um die Stadt Uttar Pradesh in Indien stark von Stromausfällen geprägt ist, besteht der Bedarf auch neue Nutzungs- und Anwendungsfälle für 2nd Life Stromspeicher mit einer höheren Anforderung an Leistungsfähigkeit, Performance und Lebensdauer zu entwickeln.

04.03.2021 Lesezeit: 2 min

Ein weit verbreiteter und geeigneter Anwendungsfall dafür sind sog. Nano-Grids, die in Entwicklungsländern üblicherweise mit Blei-Säure Batterien betrieben werden. Sie liefern Strom für eine ganze Straße mit bis zu 50 Geschäften, Restaurants und Gemüsehändlern. Allerdings weisen Blei-Säure Batterien neben den negativen Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt weitere Nachteile im „Handling“ auf, wie u. a. eine weniger stabile Performance (Entladestrom und Energiedichte), eine hohe Wartungsintensität sowie hohes Transportgewicht verbunden mit einer kurzen Lebenszeit auf.

So entstand die Idee als weiteren Projektmeilenstein auf Basis von gebrauchten e-tron Batteriemodulen ein umweltfreundliches 2nd Life Solar Nano-Grid anzufertigen und im Alltag zu testen.

Dieses zeichnet sich mit den folgenden Leistungsparametern und Vorteilen aus: 24V Gleichstrom und 5kWh Systemkapazität. Die Nutzungsdauer beträgt bei moderater Verwendung 10-15 Jahre und der Lade- und Entladezustand der Batterien ist IoT connected., dies ermöglicht das Tracking mittels SIM-Karte und App. Mit Hilfe des neuen „2nd Life Speichers“ basierend auf zwei gebrauchten e-tron Batteriemodulen, können so vier alte Blei-Säure-Akkus in einem Nano-Grid abgelöst werden.

Der erste Prototyp des „Nunam Solar Nano-Grids“ wird derzeit in Uttar Pradesh bei einem „Energy Entrepreneur“ erprobt. Gegen eine geringe Gebühr von 4 Rupien am Tag (0,06 Euro) können Kleingewerbetreibende den neuen, nachhaltigen Strom von einem lokalen Energielieferanten beziehen.

Das neue  Nunam Solar-Nano-Grid ermöglicht so bis zu 50 Händlern auch nachts ihrem Gewerbe nachzugehen. Es versorgt ab sofort eine ganze Straße netzautark jeden Abend mit grünem Strom, der tagsüber aus Solarenergie gewonnen und gespeichert wurde.

Second Life Batterien: Grüner Strom aus gebrauchten Akkus

Begeisterung 25.08.2020

Second Life Batterien: Grüner Strom aus gebrauchten Akkus

Grüner Strom: Zweites Leben für gebrauchte Laptop-Akkus – Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt fördert die Erforschung von Second Life Batterien des Start-ups Nunam.

Mehr erfahren