Second-life energy storage systems from old laptop batteries

With its second-life battery research, start-up company Nunam is advocating for an environmentally friendly power supply in rural India in particular. It is a multi-layer project that demonstrates how energy storage can be designed to be CO₂-neutral, for example.

08/25/2020 Reading Time: 5 min

The Nunam vision – second-life energy storage systems for the future

German-Indian start-up company “Nunam” (Sanskrit for “future”) has commited itself to give used lithium-ion battery cells such as those from electronic scrap sources a second life, thereby demonstrating that it is possible to not only reduce waste, but also lower the costs for energy storage and make it CO₂-neutral at the same time.

Nunam, a non-profit start-up company, obtains large quantities of used lithium-ion batteries from sources including discarded laptop batteries from electronic scrap dealers. The dealers obtain these batteries from private households, public institutions, and companies.

Nunam takes the used batteries and creates a new product: the stationary Nunam energy storage system. It can supply low-power loads such as smartphones, fans, or lamps with power. For example, a five-year-old laptop can serve as a light source for Indian fruit and vegetable sellers on a market and provide people in rural India with power sources.

Laptop batteries with a residual capacity of roughly 65 %

And these energy storage boxes benefit from a great deal of residual power. Initial experiences from the project have shown that the batteries often still have a residual capacity of roughly 65 %. Using Nunam energy storage systems can thus counteract the waste created by electronics that are simply thrown away day after day in a targeted way.

The idea of these “second-life energy storage systems” is multi-layered: It is a concept that satisfies the various “rules” (Rs) for sustainable life and a future worth living. The project directly addresses all four Rs – reduce, reuse, recycle and rethink – in addition to the topic of enablement.

Aside from reducing waste (REUSE) and replacing the purchase of new energy storage systems with the secondary use of old ones, the project also pursues the following sustainable goals:

This new technical solution reduces CO₂ emissions (REDUCE). The system is CO₂-friendly, as the production and disposal of conventional lead-acid batteries as well as new lithium-ion batteries create carbon dioxide and additional electronic scrap. The batteries used here have already been produced, and their use is continued for as long as possible as part of their “second life,” which means that fewer new batteries have to be produced.

There is a further positive aspect: Many regions in India experience power outages every day and, depending on the situation, make do with kerosene lamps, lead-acid batteries, and diesel generators (for larger users). Some have no backup system for power outages at all due to economic reasons.

In many cases, the use of affordable battery storage systems that are charged with environmentally friendly solar power can offer a better solution as compared to what was previously possible.

For example, the Nunam energy storage system can supply power to households that have little or no access to electricity, while also saving CO₂ emissions and minimizing electronic scrap effectively thanks to the positive environmental effect.

The long-term goal of the Nunam team is to offer the Nunam energy storage system for half the price of conventional energy storage systems.

To this end, the technology that regulates the use and interconnection of the used batteries in the background is optimized continuously. The Nunam energy storage systems are equipped with all sorts of technology features across Hardware and Software, including a SIM card that connects them to the Internet. This allows data, including the power capacity and geographical position, to be read out in real time.

This aspect is of fundamental importance in order to be able to get a transparent overview of the system and gain insights for the further development. It also schedules and initiates the recycling process, which takes place after the full residual capacity has been used. The documentation and location via the app ensures that the batteries that are discarded for good can be returned to Nunam. They can then be directed to functioning and effective recycling loops, thereby saving additional resources.

Positive influence on the environment and society

What’s special about this project is the social aspect. The low-cost provision of storage systems for solar energy in developing countries such as India provides the people who live there with easy access to clean electricity. Millions of people in India live without reliable access to electricity and can benefit from solutions like this. (RETHINK & ENABLE).

At the end of the project, the results, data, and findings from the project will be made available to anyone interested in an open source portal. This will ensure that the greatest possible number of interested persons can benefit from these findings and put them to further use.

Three questions on the project start for Prodip Chatterjee

What exactly does your pilot project with the street vendors in India look like?
Prodip Chatterjee:
The aim of our pilot project is to use our second-life batteries across different target groups that benefit greatly from them. We are starting with fruit and vegetable vendors who use our battery systems to light up their pushcart after sunset so that they can continue to sell their products. They can also charge their phones at the same time. As a next step, we are planning to use our batteries in households in rural Indian villages.

The batteries are about the size of a car battery and weigh two kilograms. The technology and interfaces are the same as those of conventional stationary batteries: There is a connection for charging the prototypes (e.g. with solar energy) and outlets for discharging them.

From where do you get the batteries?
Prodip Chatterjee: The lithium-ion batteries are delivered to us by local electronic waste dealers from Bengaluru and other cities. We extract the cells from the old laptop battery packs and test them. The average residual capacity is around 65 percent. It’s crazy to think about how much potential is just thrown into the trash

On the topic of the circular economy: At some point, the batteries really are empty. How do you get the batteries back so that they don’t end up in the trash after all?
Prodip Chatterjee:
I still see this as a major challenge that we intend to tackle with various elements and test with this project: All prototypes are initially connected to the Internet 24/7 via an integrated SIM card. This provides us with various data points in real time and tells us where it is and in what condition it is in (with the users’ consent, of course!).

In addition, each battery cell has its own ID with a QR code, which we call the “Nunam ID.” The Nunam ID contains information on the battery cell and from whom we received it originally. We have developed a smartphone app and an online dashboard for tracking purposes. This way, the usage data allows us to predict for how long the battery can be used and when it will really reach the end of its life and have to be returned to us. This feature enables us to contact the users proactively and ensure that these devices are returned to us at no cost so that we can then hand them over to a certified lithium-ion recycling process. Continuous contact with the customer will be crucial for ensuring that the battery does not end up in the trash again.

Renewable energy storage of the future? Battery recycling for India

Renewable energy storage of the future? Battery recycling for India

Read the full interview with Prodip Chatterjee here.

To the interview

2nd Life Stromspeicher aus alten Laptop-Akkus

Das Start-up Nunam setzt sich mit seiner Second Life Batterie Forschung für eine umweltschonende Stromversorgung in ländlichen Gebieten Indiens ein. Ein vielschichtiges Projekt, das u.a. aufzeigt, wie Energiespeicherung CO₂-neutral gestaltet werden kann.

25.08.2020 Lesezeit: 5 min

Die Nunam Vision – 2nd Life Stromspeicher für die Zukunft

Das deutsch-indische Start-up „Nunam“ (Sanskrit für die Zukunft) hat sich zur Vision gemacht, benutzten Lithium-Ionen Batteriezellen z. B. aus Elektroschrott ein zweites Leben zu geben und dabei aufzuzeigen, dass es möglich ist, nicht nur Müll zu reduzieren, sondern auch die Kosten für Energiespeicherung zu senken und diese dabei CO₂-neutral zu machen.

Das gemeinnützige Start-up Nunam bezieht gebrauchte Lithium-Ionen-Akkus, die beispielsweise aus ausrangierten Laptop Akkus stammen, in großen Stückzahlen von Elektroschrotthändlern. Die Händler erhalten diese von Privathaushalten, öffentlichen Einrichtungen und auch Unternehmen.

Aus den gebrauchten Batterien erstellt Nunam ein neues Produkt – ein stationäres Speichersystem: den Nunam-Speicher. Er kann Niedrigstromverbraucher wie Smartphones, Ventilatoren oder Lampen mit Strom versorgen. Ein fünf Jahre alter Laptop kann so z. B. als Lichtquelle für indische Obst- und Gemüse-Händler auf einem Markt dienen und Menschen in ländlichen Gebieten Indiens mit grünem Strom versorgen.

Laptop Akkus mit rund 65 % Restkapazität

Und diese Speicherboxen profitieren dabei von jeder Menge Restleistung. Erste Erfahrungswerte des Projekts zeigen, dass oft noch rund zwei Drittel Restkapazität in den Batterien vorhanden sind. Der Einsatz der Nunam-Speicher kann so einer Verschwendung, die leider durch achtloses Wegwerfen Tag für Tag passiert, gezielt entgegenwirken.

Die Idee dieser sog. „Second Life Energiespeicher“ ist vielschichtig, ein Konzept, das den verschiedenen „Regeln“ (R`s) für ein nachhaltiges Leben und einer lebenswerten Zukunft gerecht wird. Das Projekt spricht alle vier R´s: Re-duce, Re-Use, Re-Cycle, Re-Think-Enable unmittelbar an.

Denn neben der Müllreduktion („RE-USE“), wodurch die Herstellung und der Neukauf von Speichersystemen durch die Sekundärnutzung ersetzen kann, verfolgt das Projekt auch die folgenden nachhaltigen Ziele:

Unter dem Stichwort „RE-DUCE“ werden mit dieser neuen technischen Lösung CO₂-Emissionen reduziert. Die hier eingesetzten Batterien sind bereits hergestellt und werden im Sinne ihres „Second Lifes“ so lange es möglich ist weiter genutzt, so dass weniger neuen Batterien produziert werden müssen. Durch die ausbleibende Neu-Produktion von Akkuzellen wird CO₂ eingespart und weiterer Elektroschrott vermieden.

Ein weiterer positiver Gesichtspunkt kommt noch hinzu: Viele Regionen Indiens kämpfen täglich mit Stromausfällen und behelfen sich je nach Situation mit Kerosinlampen, Blei-Säure-Batterien oder Dieselgeneratoren (für größere Anwender) um den Zeitraum der Stromausfälle zu überbrücken.

Gerade beim Dieselgeneratoren wird sehr viel CO₂ erzeugt. Mit dem Einsatz von erschwinglichen Batteriespeichern, die mit umweltfreundlicher Solarenergie geladen werden, kann eine bessere Lösung in vielen Fällen gefunden werden – verglichen zu den bisherigen Möglichkeiten.

Der Nunam-Speicher kann so z. B. Haushalte mit Strom versorgen, die wenig oder gar keinen Zugang zu Elektrizität haben und mit dem positiven Umwelt-Effekt dabei CO₂ Emissionen einsparen und effektiv Elektroschrott minimieren.

Das langfristige Ziel der Nunam Gründer ist es, den Nunam-Speicher halb so teuer wie herkömmliche Speichersysteme anzubieten.

Dazu wird die Technologie, die im Hintergrund die Nutzung und das Zusammenschalten der gebrauchten Batterien regelt, ständig optimiert. Die Nunam-Speicher sind dazu mit jeder Menge High-Tech ausgestattet, auch eine SIM-Karte verbindet sie mit dem Internet. So können Daten, wie u. a. die Leistungskapazität und geographische Position in Echtzeit ausgelesen werden.

Dieser Aspekt ist von elementarer Bedeutung, um einen transparenten Überblick über das System und Erkenntnisse für die Weiterentwicklung erschließen zu können. Auch das Recycling, das nach völliger Restnutzung erfolgt, wird damit terminiert und angestoßen. Mit der Dokumentation und Ortung via App wird sichergestellt, dass die endgültig ausrangierten Akkus an Nunam zurückgegeben werden können. Danach können sie in funktionierende und effektive Recyclingkreisläufe eingebracht und damit zusätzlich Ressourcen geschont werden.

Positiver Einfluss auf Umwelt und Gesellschaft

Das Besondere an diesem Projekt ist der soziale Aspekt. Durch die kostengünstige Bereitstellung von Solarspeichern in Entwicklungsländern wie Indien wird den dort lebenden Menschen so ein einfacher Zugang zu sauberer Elektrizität ermöglicht. In Indien leben Millionen Menschen ohne regelmäßigen Zugang zu Strom, die von Lösungen wie dieser profitieren können. (RE-THINK ENABLE)

Die Ergebnisse, Daten und Erkenntnisse aus dem Projekt werden zum Projektende allen Interessierten in einem Open Source Portal bereitgestellt. Damit soll sichergestellt werden, dass ein möglichst großer Anteil an Interessierten von diesen Erkenntnissen profitieren und sie weiter nutzen können. 

Interview mit Nunam Co-Gründer Prodip Chatterjee

Wie sieht euer Pilotprojekt mit den Straßenhändlern in Indien konkret aus?
Prodip Chatterjee
: In unserem Pilotprojekt wollen wir unsere 2nd Life Speicher bei verschiedenen Zielgruppen einsetzen, die davon einen hohen Nutzen haben. Den Start bilden Obst- und Gemüsehändler, die den mobilen Stromspeicher für ihre Stände nach Sonnenuntergang verwenden, um Licht zu haben und so weiter verkaufen zu können. Nebenbei können sie währenddessen auch ihr Handy laden. Im Anschluss planen wir den Einsatz bei Haushalten in dörflichen Gegenden in Indien.

Die Stromspeicher sind etwa so groß wie eine Autobatterie und wiegen zwei Kilo. Technik und Anschlüsse entsprechen denen von ganz normalen stationären Energiespeichern – es gibt einen Anschluss zum Laden der Prototypen (z. B. durch Solarenergie) und Ausgänge zum Entladen.

Wie kommt ihr an die Akkus?
Wir bekommen die Lithium-Ionen-Batterien und -Akkus von ansässigen Elektro-Schrotthändlern rund um Bengaluru und anderen Städten geliefert. Wir entnehmen aus den alten Batterien die Zellen und testen sie. Die durchschnittliche Restkapazität liegt bei rund 65 Prozent. Es ist schon verrückt, wenn ich mir vorstelle, wieviel Potenzial einfach auf dem Müll landet.

Stichpunkt Kreislaufwirtschaft: Die Akkus sind ja dann auch wirklich irgendwann leer. Wie bekommt ihr die Energiespeicher zurück, damit sie nicht doch auf dem Müll landen?
Das sehe ich noch als große Herausforderung, die wir mit verschiedenen Elementen begegnen und durch dieses Projekt testen wollen: Zunächst sind alle Prototypen via integrierter Sim-Karte 24/7 mit dem Internet verbunden; damit bekommen wir verschiedene Datenpunkte in Echtzeit und wissen, wo es sich befindet und in welchem Zustand es ist (natürlich mit dem Konsens der Nutzer!).

Darüber hinaus besitzt jede Batteriezelle eine eigene ID mit QR-Code – wir nennen sie „Nunam-ID“. Hinter der Nunam-ID stecken wiederum diverse Informationen zu der Batteriezelle oder auch von wem wir diese ursprünglich bekommen haben. Für das Tracking haben wir eine Smartphone-App und ein Online-Dashboard entwickelt. So können wir über die Nutzungsdaten vorhersehen, wie lange der Stromspeicher noch nutzbar ist und auch wann dieser wirklich „End-of-Life“ ist und zu uns zurückmuss. Damit könnten wir dann die Nutzer proaktiv kontaktieren und dafür Sorge tragen, dass diese Geräte kostenfrei zu uns zurückkommen, damit wir diese dann einem zertifizierten Lithium-Ionen Recyclingprozess zuführen. Der stete Kontakt zum Kunden wird entscheidend sein, damit der Speicher nicht wieder auf dem Müll landet.

Energiespeicher der Zukunft? Akku-Recycling für Indien

Energiespeicher der Zukunft? Akku-Recycling für Indien

Das komplette Interview mit Prodip Chatterjee lesen Sie hier.

Zum Interview