Sustainable Resource Management – Audi presents graduate award

Anyone who achieves outstanding performance in the field of Sustainable Resource Management at the TU Munich can expect an award: the SRM Award of the Audi Environmental Foundation.

01/29/2020 Reading Time: 1 min

Purpose and scope of the Sustainable Resource Management Award

The Audi Environmental Foundation launched the SRM Award in 2010. The award honors graduates who have achieved outstanding results in their master's thesis in the Sustainable Resource Management program at the Technical University of Munich. The award is endowed with €1,500 and is presented once a year to a prizewinner.

The project partner

Master's Degree Programme in Sustainable Resource Management at the Faculty of Forestry and Resource Management of the Technical University of Munich. In an international atmosphere, students are familiarized with the diverse requirements for professional resource management. The aim is to learn about and apply the important concepts for sustainable management and to understand and control the interactions between man, nature and technology.

The SRM Award prize winners

2019 SRM Award Winner

The Audi Environmental Foundation has honored the master’s thesis of a young researcher from the Technical University of Munich (TUM) with the “Sustainable Resource Management Award” (SRM). The prize, which was awarded for the ninth time, went to Dayana Ramirez Gutierrez. The scientist delved deeper into “Stakeholder Knowledge Mapping” (SKM) and developed a concept for initial operationalization. The award winner received EUR 1,500 for her academic thesis.
 

Dayana Ramirez Gutierrez wrote her master’s thesis as part of the EU research project “PHUSICOS.” The project examines the development and acceptance of nature-based solutions involving natural resources for adapting to climate change in Europe’s rural areas. Ms. Gutierrez addressed the question as to how the knowledge of various stakeholders can be bundled and utilized. The aim is to incorporate the knowledge of the region held by local residents, experts, and other stakeholders into the process of shaping the environment and to thereby ensure a higher level of acceptance. The young Columbian also highlights the challenges that arise when involving various stakeholders in environmentally relevant decision-making-processes. Living laboratories in the pilot regions in Norway, the Pyrenees, Italy, Austria, and Germany use the theoretical groundwork established by Gutierrez to co-design their climate protection solutions.
 

The Audi Environmental Foundation has been supporting young scientists whose ideas make valuable contributions to resources management since 2009. “Dayana Gutierrez takes a descriptive and creative approach to addressing a problem that concerns us all. By pointing out how local residents must be approached and involved in order to implement nature-based solutions, she creates a basis for developing concrete programs,” says Rüdiger Recknagel, Managing Director of the Audi Environmental Foundation.

2018 SRM Award Winners

The Audi Environmental Foundation has presented two master’s graduates from the Technical University of Munich with the Sustainable Resource Management (SRM) Award. For the eighth time now the Audi Environmental Foundation has honored outstanding master’s theses in the Sustainable Resource Management course of study in this way. This year’s award went to Julia Möbius and Sebastian Heinz. Each of the winners received prize money of 1,500 euros.


In her master’s thesis, Julia Möbius analyzed how young people perceive and use the Berlin city forest. The result: They have hardly discovered the forest as a recreational area for themselves. On site, she interviewed 800 Berlin residents aged between 14 and 25 about their expectations of forests and thus created a comprehensive basis for planning future design concepts for forest areas.

The second prize-winning thesis was written by Sebastian Heinz. The master’s graduate dealt with the socio-economic consequences of climate change and the associated uncertain environmental conditions. During a research stay in Hangzhou, China, he conducted an economic experiment with students and farmers to investigate how people living in river basins react to social dilemmas. In his work, Sebastian Heinz showed that fairness and trust contribute to the successful organization of unequally distributed access to water.

“Since 2009, the Audi Environmental Foundation has been promoting innovative ideas for environmental protection, as well as scientists and their research into sustainable resource management. With the SRM Award, we are honoring two young researchers who are concerned with the forest and the important resource of water – and are thus contributing to greater sustainability,” says Rüdiger Recknagel, Chief Executive of the Audi Environmental Foundation.

2017 SRM Award Winners

Audi Environmental Foundation GmbH and the Technical University of Munich (TUM) have presented the Sustainable Resource Management Award (SRM Award) to two young scientists for their master’s theses. The SRM award is remunerated with prize money of 1,500 euros and has been awarded to TUM graduates of the Sustainable Resource Management degree course for the seventh time. Prizes are awarded for particularly environmentally friendly and sustainable ideas. Prizewinner Daniela Angelova developed concepts for future-oriented urban development and Diana Young developed approaches for more efficient biogas plants.

Daniela Angelova (28) dealt with urban living environments using the example of Bahir Dar in Ethiopia. She investigated land use in and around the African provincial capital and analyzed socio-economic factors. According to her results, built-up areas had grown in Bahir Dar over the past 30 years at the expense of arable land, grassland and fallow land and of the nearby alluvial forest of the Blue Nile. This resulted in damage to the ecosystem. Angelova identified factors such as population growth and proximity to hospitals, schools and other public facilities as drivers of urban growth. “The Audi Environmental Foundation has supported projects for the reforestation of oak forests since 2009. We are now interested in how much the influence the proximity of forests to the city can have,” said Recknagel. 


The second winner of the SRM Award, Diana Young, investigated fungi in biogas plants. On the basis of this, she developed scenarios of how the promotion of fungi growth could contribute to a more efficient and sustainable biogas production. Young also analyzed temperature, oxygen content and pH in the plants and used the results to develop hypotheses for improved processes. Follow-up studies could build on this. “Biogas is regarded as an important sustainable energy source, because its production can make use of renewable resources, dispose of wastes and recycle nutrients. In Germany alone, there are several thousand plants that could profit from the results,” estimated Philipp Benz of the TUM Professorship for Wood Bioprocesses.

“The theses of both scientists impressively demonstrate that the prudent use of resources can have a major impact. They also provide answers to the important questions of our time,” said Rüdiger Recknagel, Managing Director of the Audi Environmental Foundation. The Foundation supports technologies for the sustainable and environmentally friendly use of natural resources and supports research and development.

2016 SRM Award Winners

2016 SRM AWARD - Audi Environmental Foundation honors young scientists 

For the sixth time, Audi Environmental Foundation GmbH has presented the SRM Award for the best thesis in the resource management degree course at the Technical University of Munich.

The Audi Environmental foundation has honored two young scientists with the Sustainable Resource Management Award (SRM). For the sixth time now, the Foundation has presented this award for the best theses on the master’s course for sustainable management at the Technical University of Munich (TUM). The prize winners addressed the CO2 footprint as a climate protection measure in the German construction machinery industry and discussed strategies for the more sustainable use of hydroelectric power. Anne Katrin Kleih and Veda Sara Sayakoummane received prize money of 1,500 euros for their achievements.

Digitization, sustainability and urbanization are the three megatrends of our time and, with its ecological focus, the Audi Environmental Foundation promotes the aspect of sustainability in particular. With the presentation of the SRM Award, the Foundation actively supports the responsible use of resources. The two scientists’ results provide important findings for environmentally compatible technologies of the future and can be transferred into the climate-protection strategies of companies.

The research assistant and doctoral student at the School of Horticultural Economics at Geisenheim University, Anne Katrin Kleih from Wiesbaden, examined the current situation regarding the level of knowledge concerning the CO2 footprint of production and processes in the German construction machinery industry. This CO2 footprint is regarded as a key factor for climate protection. At the same time, she assessed the attitude of people involved in the industry. Her thesis constitutes a database for the further development of companies’ ecological purchasing decisions. Kleih also pointed out the untapped potential for products of the construction machinery industry with low carbon footprint.

The second prizewinner, Australian-born Veda Sara Sayakoummane, determined ways for the private sector to contribute towards the more efficient and sustainable development of hydroelectric projects. She refers to the controversial debate about the planned expansion of the use of hydroelectric power as a source of energy in Laos and provides an insight into the complex subject, which is relevant for the overall development of Southeast Asia. This knowledge lays the foundation for a constructive discourse between private-sector project developers, government departments and other involved parties.

2015 SRM Award Winner

2015 SRM AWARD - Audi Environmental Foundation presents the award for a master’s thesis on climate protection 

For the fifth time, Audi Environmental Foundation GmbH has presented the SRM Award for the best thesis in the resource management degree course at the Technical University of Munich.

Audi Environmental Foundation GmbH has awarded the Sustainable Resource Management Award (SRM) for the fifth time. With this prize, the Environmental Foundation recognizes the best theses each year in the degree course in sustainable resource management at the Technical University of Munich (TUM). This year, the prize goes to the Australian Samuel Gordon Munro for his master’s thesis on carbon storage in the semi-arid Mongolian steppes. The winner receives prize money of 1,500 euros.

Munro investigated the potential of the Mongolian grasslands for binding atmospheric CO2. Focusing on largely untouched grasslands, he succeeded in creating the first ever reference for their maximum carbon storage capacity. Soil is regarded as the largest terrestrial carbon sink. In his thesis, Munro discovered that, surprisingly, land that has been affected by severe erosion, arable farming or intensive grazing has a markedly high level of carbon saturation and consequently only a very low CO2 storage capacity. With this finding that is contrary to original assumptions, the quantitative contribution of grasslands to the global storage capacity must be reassessed. His thesis supplies important data on how land usage can be changed in the future to benefit climate protection.

2014 SRM Award Winners

2014 SRM AWARD - Award presented for a thesis on the topic of sustainability 

For the fourth time, Audi Environmental Foundation GmbH has presented the SRM Award for the best thesis in the resource management degree course at the Technical University of Munich.

The SRM Award (Sustainable Resource Management), which was presented this year for the fourth time, went to Pauline Chepchirchir Cherunya and William Meister. The results of their research make a contribution to the responsible use of resources to improve the quality of life in developing countries. Each prizewinner received a prize of € 1,500 for their outstanding master’s theses.

2013 SRM Award Winners

2013 SRM AWARD - Award presented for master’s theses on resource management 

Prize for the best theses: For the third time, Audi Environmental Foundation GmbH has presented the SRM Award in the Sustainable Resource Management (SRM) master’s degree course at the Technical University of Munich. This year the jury honored Desislava Dimkova and Abo El Wafa for their research results concerning a sustainable man-environment system. Each of the winners were delighted to receive a prize of € 1,500.

Desislava Dimokova focused her work on the challenges involved in the integration of renewable energy sources into the electric power system. Her concept serves as an important basis for the design of future power systems with a high proportion of fluctuating energy sources such as wind and the sun. The second prizewinner, Abo El Wafa, designed a possible scenario for urban development in the Ethiopian capital of Addis Ababa against the background of climate change and the urbanization process in Africa. With this, he made an important contribution to the EU-sponsored research project “Climate Change and Urban Vulnerability in Africa”.

2012 SRM Award Winners

2012 SRM AWARD - Award presented for a thesis on the topic of sustainability 

For the second time, Audi Environmental Foundation GmbH has presented the SRM Award for the best thesis in the resource management degree course at the Technical University of Munich.

This year, the Foundation awarded equal first prize to two young scientists for their persuasive theses. With their results, the two prizewinners, Therese Hertel and Christina Deibl, have made an important contribution to climate protection and the preservation of biodiversity and both will certainly have been thrilled to receive the prize money of € 1,500.

SRM Award Winner 2011

2011 SRM AWARD - Award presented for a thesis on the topic of sustainability

For the first time, Audi Environmental Foundation GmbH has awarded a prize for the best thesis in the resource management degree course at the Technical University of Munich.

As part of the Audi commitment to more sustainability, the new SRM Award promotes outstanding achievements in the Sustainable Resource Management (SRM) field of science. The Foundation has awarded the prize to the 27-year-old scientist Astor Toraño Caicoya for his innovative contribution to climate research. The prize money is € 1,500.

Nachhaltiges Ressourcenmanagement – Audi verleiht Award

Wer an der TU München hervorragende Leistungen auf dem Gebiet des Nachhaltigen Ressourcenmanagements erbringt, den erwartet eine Auszeichnung: der SRM Award der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt.

29.01.2020 Lesezeit: 1 min

Zweck und Umfang der Auszeichnung

Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt hat 2010 den SRM Award ins Leben gerufen. Mit dem Award werden Absolventen ausgezeichnet, die in ihrer Masterarbeit im Studiengang Sustainable Resource Management – also nachhaltiges Ressourcenmanagement – der Technischen Universität München hervorragende Leistungen erbracht haben. Der Preis ist mit 1.500 € dotiert und wird einmal im Jahr einer Preisträgerin beziehungsweise einem Preisträger zuerkannt.

Der Projektpartner

Masterstudiengang Sustainable Resource Management an der Studienfakultät Forstwissenschaft und Ressourcenmanagement der Technischen Universität München. Hier werden in einer internationalen Atmosphäre Studenten mit den vielfältigen Anforderungen für ein professionelles Ressourcenmanagement vertraut gemacht. Es gilt, die bedeutsamen Konzepte für ein nachhaltiges Wirtschaften kennen und anwenden zu lernen sowie die Interaktionen zwischen Mensch, Natur und Technik zu begreifen und zu steuern.

Die SRM Award Preisträger*innen

SRM Award Preisträger 2019

Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt hat die Masterarbeit einer jungen Forscherin der Technischen Universität München (TUM) mit dem „Sustainable Resource Management Award“ (SRM) ausgezeichnet. Zum neunten Mal wurde die Auszeichnung vergeben – dieses Jahr an Dayana Ramirez Gutierrez. Die Wissenschaftlerin vertiefte das „Stakeholder Knowledge Mapping“ (SKM) und erarbeitete ein Konzept für eine erste Operationalisierung. Die Preisträgerin erhält 1.500 Euro für ihre Abschlussarbeit.

Dayana Ramirez Gutierrez erstellte ihre Masterarbeit im Rahmen des EU-Forschungsprojekts „PHUSICOS“. Das Projekt behandelt die Entwicklung und Akzeptanz naturbasierter Lösungen unter Einbeziehung natürlicher Ressourcen, um sich im ländlichen Raum Europas an den Klimawandel anzupassen. Gutierrez beschäftigte sich mit der Frage, wie Wissen von unterschiedlichen Akteuren gebündelt und nutzbar gemacht werden kann. Ziel ist, das Wissen von Anwohnern, Experten und weiteren Stakeholdern mit deren regionalem Wissen in die Gestaltung der Umwelt einzubeziehen und so für mehr Akzeptanz zu sorgen. Die junge Kolumbianerin zeigt außerdem die Herausforderungen auf, die bei Einbeziehung verschiedener Stakeholdern in umweltrelevante Entscheidungsprozesse entstehen. Die theoretischen Grundlagen von Gutierrez dienen Reallaboren in den Pilotregionen in Norwegen, den Pyrenäen, Italien, Österreich und Deutschland für das Co-Design ihrer Lösungen zum Klimaschutz.

Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt fördert seit 2009 junge Wissenschaftler, die mit ihren Ideen einen wertvollen Beitrag zum Ressourcenmanagement leisten. „Dayana Gutierrez widmet sich anschaulich und kreativ einem Problem, das uns alle angeht. Indem sie aufzeigt, wie Anwohner angesprochen und einbezogen werden müssen, um naturbasierte Lösungen umzusetzen, schafft sie eine Basis für die Entwicklung konkreter Programme“, sagt Geschäftsführer der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt, Rüdiger Recknagel.

SRM Award Preisträger 2018

Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt hat zwei Masterabsolventen der Technischen Universität München mit dem „Sustainable Resource Management“-Award (SRM) ausgezeichnet.  Bereits zum achten Mal ehrte die Audi-Umweltstiftung auf diese Weise herausragende Masterarbeiten im Studiengang „Nachhaltiges Ressourcenmanagement“.  Die Auszeichnung ging in diesem Jahr an Julia Möbius und Sebastian Heinz.

Julia Möbius analysierte in ihrer Masterarbeit, wie junge Menschen den Berliner Stadtwald wahrnehmen und nutzen. Das Ergebnis: Sie haben den Wald als Erholungsgebiet kaum für sich entdeckt. Vor Ort befragte sie daher 800 Berlinerinnen und Berliner im Alter von 14 bis 25 Jahren nach ihren Erwartungen an Wälder und schuf somit eine umfassende Grundlage zur Planung künftiger Ausgestaltungskonzepte für Waldgebiete. Die zweite prämierte Abschlussarbeit stammt von Sebastian Heinz. Der Masterabsolvent behandelte die wirtschaftlich-sozialen Folgen des Klimawandels und die damit einhergehenden unsicheren Umweltbedingungen. Während eines Forschungsaufenthalts in Hangzhou (China) untersuchte er in einem ökonomischen Experiment mit Studenten und Landwirten, wie Anwohner in Flussgebieten auf soziale Dilemmata reagieren. Sebastian Heinz zeigte in seiner Arbeit, dass Fairness und Vertrauen dazu beitragen, den ungleich verteilten Zugang zu Wasser erfolgreich zu organisieren.

„Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt fördert seit 2009 innovative Ideen für den Umweltschutz sowie Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und ihre Forschung zu nachhaltigem Ressourcenmanagement. Mit dem SRM-Award würdigen wir zwei junge Forschende, die sich mit dem Wald bzw. der wichtigen Ressource Wasser befassen – und so zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit beitragen“, sagt Rüdiger Recknagel, Geschäftsführer der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt.

SRM Award Preisträger 2017

Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt GmbH und die Technische Universität München (TUM) haben die Masterarbeiten zweier junger Wissenschaftlerinnen mit dem „Sustainable Resource Management Award“ ausgezeichnet. Der SRM-Award ist mit 1.500 Euro dotiert und geht zum siebten Mal an TUM-Absolventen des Studiengangs Sustainable Resource Management. Prämiert werden besonders umweltschonende und nachhaltige Ideen. Preisträgerin Daniela Angelova entwarf Konzepte für eine zukunftsorientierte Stadtentwicklung, Diana Young entwickelte Ansätze für effizientere Biogasanlagen.

Die 28-jährige Daniela Angelova befasste sich mit urbanen Lebensräumen am Beispiel von Bahir Dar in Äthiopien. Dazu untersuchte Angelova die Flächennutzung in und um die afrikanische Provinzhauptstadt und analysierte sozio-ökonomische Faktoren. Ihren Ergebnissen zufolge wuchsen die bebauten Flächen in Bahir Dar in den vergangenen 30 Jahren zu Lasten von Acker-, Grün- und Brachland, als auch zu den benachbarten Auwäldern des Blauen Nils. Schäden am Ökosystem waren die Folge. Als Treiber des urbanen Wachstums identifizierte Angelova Faktoren wie Bevölkerungszunahme sowie Nähe zu Krankenhäusern, Schulen und anderen öffentlichen Einrichtungen. „Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt fördert seit 2009 Projekte zum Aufforsten von Eichenwäldern. Nun interessiert uns, welchen Einfluss die Nähe des Waldes zur Stadt haben kann“, sagt Recknagel.

Die zweite Preisträgerin des SRM-Awards, Diana Young, führte Untersuchungen zu Pilzen in Biogasanlagen durch. Davon ausgehend entwickelte sie Szenarien, wie durch deren Förderung ein Beitrag zu einer effizienteren und nachhaltigeren Biogasherstellung beschritten werden könnte. Young analysierte zudem Temperatur, Sauerstoffgehalt und pH-Wert in den Anlagen und entwickelte aus den Ergebnissen Hypothesen für verbesserte Abläufe. Folgestudien können daran anknüpfen. „Biogas gilt als wichtige nachhaltige Energiequelle, weil bei seiner Produktion erneuerbare Rohstoffe genutzt, Abfälle beseitigt und Nährstoffe recycelt werden können. Allein in Deutschland gibt es mehrere Tausend Anlagen, die von den Ergebnissen profitieren könnten“, schätzt Philipp Benz von der TUM-Professur für Holz-Bioprozesse.

„Die Arbeiten beider Wissenschaftlerinnen zeigen eindrucksvoll, dass umsichtiger Ressourceneinsatz viel bewirken kann. Zudem liefern sie Antworten auf wichtige Fragen unserer Zeit“, sagt Rüdiger Recknagel, Geschäftsführer der Audi-Umweltstiftung. Die Stiftung fördert Technologien für den nachhaltigen, umweltschonenden Einsatz natürlicher Ressourcen und unterstützt Forschung sowie Entwicklung.

SRM Award Preisträger 2016

SRM AWARD 2016 - Audi Umweltstiftung ehrt junge Wissenschaftlerinnen

Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt GmbH vergibt zum sechsten Mal den SRM Award für die beste Abschlussarbeit im Studiengang für Ressourcenmanagement an der TU München.

Die Audi-Umweltstiftung hat zwei junge Wissenschaftlerinnen mit dem „Sustainable Resource Management Award“ (SRM) geehrt. Mittlerweile zum sechsten Mal prämiert die Stiftung die besten Arbeiten des Master‑Studiengangs für nachhaltiges Ressourcenmanagement an der Technischen Universität München (TUM) mit dieser Auszeichnung. Die Preisträgerinnen befassten sich mit dem CO2‑Fußabdruck als Klimaschutzmaßnahme in der deutschen Baumaschinenindustrie, und mit Strategien zur nachhaltigeren Wasserkraftnutzung. Anne‑Katrin Kleih und Veda Sara Sayakoummane erhalten für ihre Leistungen ein Preisgeld in Höhe von 1.500 Euro.

Digitalisierung, Nachhaltigkeit und Urbanisierung sind die drei Megatrends unserer Zeit –die Audi‑Umweltstiftung fördert mit ihrer ökologischen Ausrichtung insbesondere den Aspekt Nachhaltigkeit. Mit der Verleihung des SRM‑Awards setzt sich die Stiftung aktiv für die Förderung eines verantwortungsvollen Umgangs mit den Ressourcen ein. Die Ergebnisse der beiden Forscherinnen liefern wichtige Erkenntnisse für  umweltverträgliche Technologien der Zukunft und lassen sich auf Klimaschutzstrategien von Unternehmen übertragen.

Die wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Doktorandin am Lehrstuhl für Gartenbauökonomie der Hochschule Geisenheim Anne‑Katrin Kleih aus Wiesbaden erfasste die aktuelle Situation zum Kenntnisstand über den CO2‑Fußabdruck von Produktion und Prozessen in der deutschen Baumaschinenindustrie. Diese CO2‑Bilanz gilt als wichtige Größe im Klimaschutz. Gleichzeitig bewertete sie die Einstellung der beteiligten Akteure. Die Arbeit stellt eine Datengrundlage für die Weiterentwicklung ökologischer Kaufentscheidungen von Unternehmen dar. Zudem zeigte Kleih das noch nicht ausgeschöpfte Potential für Produkte der Baumaschinenindustrie mit niedrigem Carbon Footprint auf.

Die zweite Preisträgerin und gebürtige Australierin Veda Sara Sayakoummane ermittelte Wege für die die private Wirtschaft, um zu einer effizienteren und nachhaltigeren Entwicklung von Wasserkraftprojekten beizutragen. Sie bezieht sich auf die kontroverse Debatte über den geplanten Ausbau der energetischen Wasserkraftnutzung in Laos und gibt einen Einblick in die komplexe Thematik, die sich als relevant für die gesamte Entwicklung Südostasiens erweist. Dieses Wissen bereitet die Grundlage für einen konstruktiven Diskurs zwischen privaten Vorhabenträgern, Regierungsstellen und weiteren Akteuren.

SRM Award Preisträger 2015

SRM AWARD 2015 - Audi-Umweltstiftung prämiert Masterarbeit zum Klimaschutz

Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt GmbH vergibt zum fünten Mal den SRM Award für die beste Abschlussarbeit im Studiengang für Ressourcenmanagement an der TU München.

Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt GmbH verleiht zum fünften Mal den „Sustainable Resource Management Award (SRM). Mit diesem Preis zeichnet die Umweltstiftung jedes Jahr die besten Abschlussarbeiten des Studiengangs für nachhaltiges Ressourcenmanagement an der Technischen Universität München (TUM) aus. In diesem Jahr geht der Preis an den Australier Samuel Gordon Munro für seine Masterarbeit über die Kohlenstoffspeicherung in halbtrockenen Steppen der Mongolei. Der Gewinner erhält ein Preisgeld von 1.500 Euro.

Munro untersuchte, welches Potential für die Bindung atmosphärischen CO2 in den mongolischen Graslandschaften steckt. Dabei gelang es ihm, anhand weitgehend unbeeinflusster Grasböden erstmals eine Referenz für deren maximale Kohlenstoffspeicherkapazität zu erstellen. Böden gelten als größter terrestrischer Kohlenstoffspeicher. Munro stellte in seiner Arbeit fest, dass durch starke Erosion, Ackerbau oder intensive Weidewirtschaft beeinflusste Flächen überraschenderweise eine ausgesprochen hohe Kohlenstoffsättigung und dementsprechend nur sehr geringe CO2‑Speicherkapazität aufweisen. Demnach müsse der quantitative Beitrag der Graslandböden zur globalen Kohlenstoffspeicherkapazität – anders als ursprünglich vermutet – neu bewertet werden. Die Arbeit liefert damit wichtige Daten, wie sich in Zukunft die Landnutzung zugunsten des Klimaschutzes ändern lässt.

SRM Award Preisträger 2014

SRM AWARD 2014 - Abschlussarbeit zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit prämiert

Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt GmbH vergibt zum vierten Mal den SRM Award für die beste Abschlussarbeit im Studiengang für Ressourcenmanagement an der TU München.

Der „SRM-Award“ (Sustainable Resource Management), der dieses Jahr zum vierten Mal verliehen wurde, ging an Pauline Chepchirchir Cherunya und William Meister. Ihre Forschungsergebnisse zu einem verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Ressourcen tragen dazu bei, die Lebensqualität in Entwicklungsländern zu verbessern. Für ihre herausragenden Masterarbeiten erhalten beide ein Preisgeld in Höhe von jeweils € 1.500.

SRM Award Preisträger 2013

SRM AWARD 2013 - Masterarbeiten in Ressourcenmanagement prämiert

Preis für die besten Abschlussarbeiten: Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt GmbH hat zum dritten Mal den „SRM-Award“ im Master-Studiengang „Sustainable Resource Management“ (SRM) an der Technischen Universität München (TUM) verliehen. In diesem Jahr zeichnete die Jury Desislava Dimkova und Abo El Wafa für ihre Forschungsergebnisse rund um ein nachhaltiges Mensch-Umwelt-System aus. Die Gewinner freuten sich über ein Preisgeld in Höhe von jeweils € 1.500.

Desislava Dimokova beschäftigte sich in ihrer Arbeit mit den Herausforderungen, die die Integration von erneuerbaren Energiequellen in das Stromsystem mit sich bringen. Ihr Konzept dient als wichtige Grundlage für das Design von zukünftigen Stromsystemen mit hohen Anteilen an fluktuierenden Energiequellen wie Wind und Sonne. Der zweite Preisträger, Abo El Wafa, entwarf vor dem Hintergrund des Klimawandels und des Verstädterungsprozesses in Afrika ein mögliches Szenario für die Stadtentwicklung der äthiopischen Hauptstadt Addis Abeba. Hiermit leistete er einen wesentlichen Beitrag zu dem von der EU geförderten Forschungsprojekt „Climate Change and Urban Vulnerability in Africa“.

SRM Award Preisträger 2012

SRM AWARD 2012 - Abschlussarbeit zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit prämiert

Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt GmbH vergibt zum zweiten Mal den SRM Award für die beste Abschlussarbeit im Studiengang für Ressourcenmanagement an der TU München.

In diesem Jahr prämierte die Stiftung gleich zwei Nachwuchswissenschaftler für ihre überzeugenden Abschlussarbeiten. Die beiden Preisträgerinnen Therese Hertel und Christina Deibl tragen mit ihren Ergebnissen wesentlich zum Klimaschutz und zum Erhalt der Biodiversität bei und durften sich über ein Preisgeld in Höhe von jeweils € 1.500 freuen.

SRM Award Preisträger 2011

SRM AWARD 2011 - Abschlussarbeit zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit prämiert

Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt GmbH hat erstmals die beste Abschlussarbeit im Studiengang für Ressourcenmanagement an der TU München prämiert.

Im Rahmen des Audi-Engagements für mehr Nachhaltigkeit fördert der neue „SRM-Award“ hervorragende Leistungen in der Wissenschaftsrichtung „Sustainable Resource Management“ (SRM). Für seinen innovativen Beitrag zur Klimaforschung zeichnete die Stiftung den 27-jährigen Wissenschaftler Astor Toraño Caicoya aus. Der Preis ist mit € 1.500 dotiert.