School competition “What can technology learn from nature?”

“What is bionics?”, “What does a maple seed have in common with a helicopter?” and “What should the future means of transportation be?” - the participants have been tackling these and similar questions in the school competition run by the Audi Environmental Foundation in collaboration with the internet platform wissen.de.

02/16/2011

The prize-winners’ works

Please note: the competition has ended!
The overall winner was Class 6a of the Albert Einstein Gymnasium (high school) in Neubrandenburg. Students up to seventh grade were able to take part in the competition with the slogan “What can technology learn from nature?”.

The students’ assignment was to find everyday technologies that have been inspired by nature. No limits were set on the implementation of the projects by the young scientists. Their plans and ideas on the topic of bionics could be sent in as a model, video, audio, photo or as text.

The first prize was awarded to Grade 6a of the Albert Einstein Gymnasium (high school) in Neubrandenburg. In a video, the students showed the relationship between the human senses and modern driving assistance systems. Using the example of a grandfather, they showed how technology can compensate for declining cognitive abilities.

After the prize-giving, the school class spent a special day at the headquarters of AUDI AG in Ingolstadt getting to know the plant more closely. Each student also adopted a self-planted cutting as part of the Audi Environmental Foundation Oak Forest Research Project.

The second prize of € 2,000 was won by the fifth Grade of the Melanchthon Gymnasium in Bretten, while Grade 7b of the Städtische Realschule Schleiden (Schleiden municipal junior high school) were certainly delighted with their third place and prize of € 1,000.

The class prizewinners

1st place: Albert Einstein Gymnasium, Neubrandenburg, Grade 6a

The students presented the topic of bionics in a very persuasive film.

2nd place: Melanchthon Gymnasium Bretten, Grade 5

This class generated enthusiasm with creative papier-mâché models and explanatory drawings.

3rd place: Städtische Realschule Schleiden, Grade 7b

The team scored with models on the topic of bionics.

Our congratulations go to all winners. We would also like to thank all participants. It was not easy for the jury to choose the winners from the large number of terrific entries.

Schulwettbewerb "Was lernt die Technik von der Natur?"

„Was ist Bionik?“, „Was hat ein Ahorn-Samen mit einem Hubschrauber gemeinsam?“ und „Was sollte das Fortbewegungsmittel der Zukunft können?“ – mit diesen und ähnliche Fragen haben sich die Teilnehmer des Schülerwettbewerbs der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt in Kooperation mit der Internetplattform wissen.de beschäftigt.

16.02.2011

Die Gewinnerarbeiten

Bitte beachten: der Wettbewerb ist beendet

Gesamtsieger wurde die Klasse 6a des Albert Einstein Gymnasiums in Neubrandenburg. An dem Wettbewerb unter dem Motto „Was lernt die Technik von der Natur?“ konnten sich Schülerinnen und Schüler bis zur siebten Klasse beteiligen.

Die Aufgabe der Schüler war, Techniken des Alltags zu finden, bei denen die Natur Pate stand. In der Umsetzung waren den Jung-Wissenschaftlern keine Grenzen gesetzt: Ihre Konzepte und Ideen zum Thema Bionik konnten sie als Modell, Video, Audio, Foto oder als Text einsenden.

Der Hauptpreis ging an die Klasse 6a des Albert Einstein Gymnasiums in Neubrandenburg. In einem Video stellten die Schüler einen Zusammenhang zwischen den menschlichen Sinnen und modernen Fahrassistenzsystemen dar. Am Beispiel eines Großvaters zeigten sie, wie Technologie nachlassende kognitive Fähigkeiten ausgleichen kann.

Die Schulklasse verbrachte nach der Preisverleihung einen besonderen Tag am Hauptsitz der AUDI AG in Ingolstadt und lernte das Werk genauer kennen. Außerdem übernahm jeder Schüler im Rahmen des Forschungsprojektes „Eichenwald“ der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt eine Baumpatenschaften für einen selbstgepflanzten Steckling.

Den mit € 2.000 dotierten zweiten Platz belegte die fünfte Klasse des Melanchthon Gymnasium in Bretten; über den dritten Platz und ein Preisgeld von € 1.000 durfte sich die Klasse 7b der Städtische Realschule Schleiden freuen.

Die Gewinnerklassen

1. Platz: Albert Einstein Gymnasium, Neubrandenburg, Klasse 6a

Die Schüler stellten das Thema Bionik in einem sehr überzeugenden Film vor.

2. Platz: Melanchthon Gymnasium Bretten, Klasse 5

Diese Klasse begeisterte mit kreativen Pappmaché-Modellen und erklärenden Zeichnungen.

3. Platz: Städtische Realschule Schleiden, Klasse 7b

Das Team punktete mit Modellen zum Thema Bionik.

Wir gratulieren allen Gewinnern. Außerdem danken wir allen Teilnehmern. Es fiel der Jury nicht leicht, aus der Vielzahl von tollen Arbeiten die Sieger auszuwählen.