Plastic Recycling | Audi Environmental Foundation film evening

Plastic waste is a major problem worldwide. At a film evening, the Audi Environmental Foundation is discussing about plastic pollution and plastic recycling ideas.

11/28/2018 Reading Time: 1 min

It is hard to imagine our everyday lives without plastic. But useful, robust and durable plastic has a downside:  if it isn’t properly recycled, it has a harmful impact on the environment. During an evening of film, the Audi Environmental Foundation discussed the question: How can we handle plastic in a sustainable way, avoid plastic where necessary, and ensure it is recycled?

Education on the subject of Plastic Recycling

On two evenings at the Audi Forums in Ingolstadt (Nov. 28) and Neckarsulm (Nov. 29), the Audi Environmental Foundation presented films followed by rounds of discussion regarding the consequences of the use of plastics. In cooperation with the NaturVision Film Festival, the Foundation showed four short films dealing with the consequences of plastic waste and possible solutions. Two experts then examined the handling and consequences of plastic use. Marine biologist and research diver Robert Marc Lehmann presented an overview of the state of the oceans. Wolfgang Rommel, head of the bifa Environmental Institute and curator of the Audi Environmental Foundation, discussed: “Is plastic always bad?”

Robert Marc Lehmann, marine biologist and research diver
Robert Marc Lehmann, marine biologist and research diver

Films should illustrate environmental topics

Rüdiger Recknagel, Managing Director of the Audi Environmental Foundation and Environmental Protection Officer for the Audi Group, said: “Films offer an especially clear portrayal of topics, which is why we decided to cooperate with the NaturVision Film Festival. We want to get people excited about protecting the environment, but we also want to raise awareness of environmental problems and encourage people to work on solutions.”

Proceeds from the film evening in Ingolstadt were donated to “One Earth – One Ocean” and the entrance fees from Neckarsulm are going to an environmental project for “upcycling” plastic in the Neckar, which has been initiated jointly by the Ministry of the Environment of Baden-Württemberg, the Heilbronn-Franken regional association and Audi. Both events were sold out.

Plastik Recycling | Filmevent der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt

Plastikmüll ist weltweit ein großes Problem. Im Rahmen eines Filmabends diskutiert die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt über Plastik Recycling – und wie dies sachgemäß und umweltfreundlich funktionieren kann.

Lesezeit: 1 min

Plastik ist aus unserem Alltag kaum mehr wegzudenken. Der nützliche, robuste und haltbare Kunststoff hat allerdings eine Kehrseite:  Wird er nicht sachgemäß recycelt, hat er schädliche Folgen für die Umwelt. Die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt diskutierte im Rahmen eines Filmabends die Frage: Wie können wir nachhaltig und umweltfreundlich mit Plastik umgehen, den Kunststoff vermeiden, wo nötig, und seine Wiederaufbereitung sicherstellen?

Aufklärung zum Thema „Plastik Recycling“

An zwei Tagen fand in den Audi Foren Ingolstadt (28.11.) und Neckarsulm (29.) ein von der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt ausgerichteter Filmabend mit anschließender Gesprächsrunde statt, um die Folgen der Plastiknutzung und die Durchführung eines korrekten Plastik Recyclings zu diskutieren. Im Rahmen einer Kooperation mit dem NaturVision Filmfestival zeigte die Stiftung vier Kurzfilme, die sich mit den Folgen von Plastikmüll und möglichen Lösungsansätzen beschäftigten. Anschließend beleuchteten zwei Experten den Umgang und die Konsequenzen der Plastiknutzung. Robert Marc Lehmann, Meeresbiologe und Forschungstaucher, gab eine Übersicht über den Zustand der Weltmeere. Wolfgang Rommel, Leiter des bifa Umweltinstituts sowie Kurator der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt, diskutierte: „Ist Plastik immer schlecht?“

Robert Marc Lehmann, Meeresbiologe und Forschungstaucher
Robert Marc Lehmann, Meeresbiologe und Forschungstaucher

Filme sollen Umweltthemen veranschaulichen

Rüdiger Recknagel, Geschäftsführer der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt und Umweltschutz-Beauftragter des Audi-Konzerns, sagte: „Filme veranschaulichen Themen besonders deutlich, deshalb haben wir uns für eine Kooperation mit dem NaturVision Filmfestival entschieden. Wir wollen Menschen für Umweltschutz begeistern, aber auch Bewusstsein für Umweltprobleme wecken und zur Arbeit an Lösungen animieren.“

Der Erlös des Filmabends in Ingolstadt wurde an „One Earth – One Ocean“ gespendet, die Eintrittsgelder aus Neckarsulm kommen einem Umweltprojekt zum „Upcycling“ von Plastik im Neckar zugute, das gemeinsam vom Umweltministerium Baden-Württemberg, dem Regionalverband Heilbronn-Franken und Audi initiiert wird. Beide Veranstaltungen waren ausverkauft.