NaturVision Film Festival – Audi Environmental Foundation sponsors short film award

The NaturVision film festival had more than ten film award categories - the Audi Environmental Foundation is co-responsible for the short film award.

Reading Time: 1 min

The goal: To bring the beauty of nature to the screen with environmental films

In cooperation with the NaturVision film festival the Audi Environmental Foundation is awarding a prize for the best short movie. Addressing environmental issues and their solutions, showing the beauty of nature, providing environmental education and creating awareness for the vulnerability of our world – these are the aims of the NaturVision film festival. The NaturVision film festival is one of the most important nature and environmental movie events in Europe. Since 2002, it offers an interesting and varied festival program that inspires the audience.

Yearly changing motto for the short film award at the NaturVision film festival

As part of the film festival NaturVison runs an annually, film competition with prizes in over 10 categories, including the Sustainability Award, the Children's Film Award, the Camera Award, the Special Award and the Audience Award. Since 2018 the film competition was enriched with a new prize category donated by the Audi Environmental Foundation: the short movie prize, which honors short movies that focus on environmental issues.

The motto of the short film award 2021: Hidden Champions – Nature is inventive

In the anniversary year of NaturVision, the Audi Environmental Foundation again would like to encourage motivated, enthusiastic filmmakers and producers to address an important issue in the field of environment, nature and sustainability. Under the motto ‘Hidden Champions: Nature is inventive’ all films and animations about unknown, hardly noticed or unpopular animals and plants are welcome.

The competition is open to topics related to the skills of lesser-known animal and plant species and how they can inspire us in terms of bionics and biotechnology. Artistic works with the starting point of ‘unrecognized talents in the flora and fauna’ are also gladly considered. We are looking forward to many submissions and exciting, interesting movies in the short film category.

Short films out of all genres and formats can be submitted here until 29th of January.

We are looking forward to emotional, fascinating and inspiring short films!

The winners

2020: ,Traces’

The movie ,Traces’ by Belgian Regisseur Sébastian Pins from 2019 tells the story of a logger in the Andes who keeps track of his work with his horse in the course of seasons.

In the course of the year, from the perspective of a young girl, he shows how the old man looks after a pine forest and transports felled trees with his horse from corners that machines cannot reach. In this way, he avoids having to fell healthy pines to create transport routes and thus conserves part of the forest.

The short film shows todays’ youth as the driving force behind the preservation of forests and celebrates the symbiosis of humans, animals and forests.

2019: Recycle, not ruin – Nature leads the way

The theme for this year’s short film prize is "Recycle, not ruin – Nature leads the way". In nature, there is no such thing as waste; everything is part of a continuous cycle. This approach is consistent with the concept of Cradle to Cradle®: Rather than exploiting the earth’s natural resources and swamping it with garbage and poison, the circular economy aims at transforming discarded machines and products into valuable raw material. The spectrum ranges from recycling and upcycling, sharing economy, forward thinking product development through to the question how the C2C-concept can be integrated in city planning and architecture.

2018: The (In)Finite Nature of Plastic

The competition 2018 was dedicated to the topic “The (In)Finite Nature of Plastic”. Within the competition a great variety of interesting, eye-opening movies, which deal with negative impact of plastic on the environment were submitted.

The winner of the short movie prize in 2018 was the Dutch activist, designer and film maker Dave Hakkens with his movie „Precious Plastic – The Story Behind“. The movie is about the evolution of the project „Precious Plastic“, which began in 2013 as Dave Hakkens graduation project at the Design Academy. The film captures all important milestones in Dave Hakkens project, starting with the initial idea, over various attempts to build a recycling machine and to choose the right material up to the final manual and the developing of a quite big community. The main goal of the project was to create awareness for the plastic pollution and to invent a machine, which makes it possible for everyone to recycle plastic.  The „Precious Plastic“-community has grown into a worldwide project with hundreds of supporters.  Other short film prize nominated movies in 2018 were among others „Die Beerdigung“ (the funeral) by Thomas Frick, „Rio im Müll“ (Rio in waste) by Anna Brass and „It’s a Plastic World“ by Andreas Tanner.

NaturVision Filmfestival – Audi Stiftung für Umwelt fördert Kurzfilmpreis

Mehr als zehn Filmpreiskategorien zählte das NaturVision Filmfestival – für den Kurzfilmpreis, ist die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt mitverantwortlich.

Lesezeit: 1 min

Das Ziel: Die Schönheit der Natur mit Umweltfilmen auf die Leinwand bringen

Gemeinsam mit dem NaturVision Filmfestival schreibt die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt einen Kurzfilmpreis aus. Die Schönheit der Natur auf die große Leinwand bringen, die Verletzlichkeit unserer Welt zeigen, Umweltbildung vermitteln und von neuen, hoffungsvollen Lösungsansätzen für Umweltprobleme wie den Klimawandel oder mangelnde Biodiversität berichten – all das möchte und schafft das NaturVision Filmfestival. NaturVision ist eines der herausragenden Natur- und Umweltfilmfestivals in Europa und begeistert seit 2002 Besucher mit seinem vielfältigen Programm und Regie auf höchstem Niveau.

Jährlich wechselndes Kurzfilmpreis Motto beim NaturVision Filmfestival

Beim Wettbewerb des Filmfestivals werden jedes Jahr herausragende Werke in mehr als zehn Filmpreiskategorien prämiert, darunter der Nachhaltigkeitspreis, der Kinderfilmpreis, der Kamerapreis, der Sonderpreis sowie der Publikumspreis. Seit 2018 gibt es beim NaturVision Filmfestival nun auch eine Wettbewerbskategorie für Kurzfilme, die sich aktuellen Umweltfragen widmet. Das Thema des NaturVision Kurzfilmpreises wird jedes Jahr neu festgelegt.

NaturVision Kurzfilm Motto 2021: Hidden Champions – die Natur ist erfinderisch

Auch in diesem besonderen Jubiläumsjahr motiviert die Audi Stiftung für Umwelt wieder engagierte Filmemacher und Filmproduzenten, sich in Form eines Kurzfilms mit einem spannenden Thema aus den Bereichen Umwelt, Natur und Nachhaltigkeit auseinanderzusetzen. Unter dem Motto ‚Hidden Champions: die Natur ist erfinderisch‘ sind alle Filme und Animationen rund um unbekannte, kaum beachtete oder unbeliebte Tiere, wie zum Beispiel der Haselnussbohrer, und Pflanzen gerne gesehen. Der Wettbewerb ist offen für Themen im Zusammenhang mit den Fähigkeiten weniger bekannter Tier- und Pflanzenarten und wie sie uns hinsichtlich Bionik und Biotechnologie inspirieren können.

Auch künstlerische Arbeiten mit Ausgangspunkt‚ unerkannte Talente in der Pflanzen- und Tierwelt‘ werden gerne berücksichtigt.

Bis zum 29. Januar 2021 können Kurzfilme bis zu 20 Minuten hier in jedem Format oder Genre eingereicht werden.

Wir freuen uns auf emotionale, inspirierende und faszinierende Kurzfilme!

Die Gewinnerfilme

2020: „Traces“

Der Film „Traces“ , des belgischen Regisseurs Sébastian Pins, aus dem Jahr 2019 erzählt die Geschichte eines Holzfällers tief in den Ardennen, der mit seinem Pferd im Wechsel der Jahreszeiten seiner Arbeit nachgeht.

Über den Jahresverlauf zeigt er aus dem Blickwinkel eines jungen Mädchens, wie der alte Mann sich um einen Kiefernwald kümmert und mit seinem Pferd gefällte Bäume aus Winkeln transportiert, die Maschinen nicht erreichen können. So vermeidet er, dass gesunde Kiefern gefällt werden müssen, um Transportwege zu schaffen und schont damit den Teil des Waldes.

Der Kurzfilm zeigt die heutige Jugend als treibende Kraft bei der Bewahrung der Wälder und feiert die Symbiose von Mensch, Tier und Wald.

2019: Kreislauf statt Kollaps – Die Natur macht‘s vor

Das Motto des Kurzfilmwettbewerbs 2019 ist „Kreislauf statt Kollaps – Die Natur macht‘s vor.“ In der Natur gibt es keinen Müll. Alles ist Teil eines andauernden Kreislaufs. Dieser Logik folgt auch das Prinzip Cradle to Cradle®: Statt unsere Natur durch Ausbeutung von Ressourcen und unter Bergen von Abfall zum Kollabieren zu bringen, soll mit einer Kreislaufwirtschaft kein Müll mehr erzeugt werden, sondern aus abgenutzten / ausrangierten Produkten / Teilen neue Wertstoffe erzeugt werden. Das Spektrum reicht von Recycling, Upcycling, Sharing Economy und vorausdenkender Produktentwicklung bis hin zur Frage, wie sich der C2C- Ansatz auf Architektur und Städtebau übertragen lässt.

2018: Die (Un-) Endlichkeit des Plastiks

Zum Kurzfilmwettbewerb 2018, unter dem Motto „Die (Un-) Endlichkeit des Plastiks“, haben die Filmschaffenden eine Vielzahl von spannenden und anregenden Filmen eingereicht, die sich mit der Thematik und der Problematik von Plastik und der Umwelt auseinandergesetzt haben.

 

Gewinner der Kurzfilmkategorie im Jahr 2018 war der Niederländer Dave Hakkens mit seinem Film „Precious Plastic – The Story Behind“. Der Film begleitet Dave Hakkens bei der Entwicklung seines Projekts „Precious Plastic“, das 2013 im Rahmen seiner Abschlussarbeit an der Design Academy Eindhoven begann. Angefangen bei der Idee, über die ersten Versuche eine Recyclingmaschine zu bauen und die Auswahl des passenden Plastiks, bis hin zu vielen nachgebauten Maschinen und der Entstehung unterschiedlichster Recycling Produkte. Das eigentliche Ziel bestand darin, auf die weltweite Plastikverschmutzung aufmerksam zu machen und eine Maschine zu entwickeln, mit der jeder überall Plastik recyceln kann. Mittlerweile besteht die „Precious Plastic- Community“ aus Hunderten von Menschen, die das Projekt unterstützen und /oder eine Recycling-Maschine nach Dave Hakkens Anleitung gebaut haben und Gebrauchsgegenstände und Kunst aus dem Recyclingplastik herstellen. Andere Nominierte der Kurzfilmkategorie im Jahr 2018 waren unter anderem Thomas Frick mit „Die Beerdigung“, Anna Brass mit „Rio im Müll“ und Andreas Tanner mit „It’s a Plastic World“.