Humming and buzzing: the fascinating world of bees in the course of time

At the Markus Wasmeier Museum, you can experience bees up close without disturbing them and go on an exciting journey of discovery together with the honey bee Pauline.

09/14/2021 Reading Time: 4 min

In the Markus Wasmeier open-air museum Schliersee, a barn was built a few years ago on the edge of the forest next to the historic bee house, which houses a glass beehive. There, visitors can observe a living bee colony up close without disturbing the animals. The surrounding lush mountain meadows and the near edge of the forest offer the bees good sources of food.

 

Now more exciting exhibits have been added, which illustrate the history of beekeeping. The visitors experience the world of bees - from their original habitat in tree hollows in the forest to the historical development of beekeeping (including honey harvesting) and modern beekeeping - with its current problems. Furthermore new ways and techniques of a close-to-nature beekeeping are presented to the audience.   

Bees are pollinators

Bees are an integral part of nature and are indispensable for life on earth. Flying from flower to flower, collecting nectar and pollen, they pollinate the plants. This is an extremely important task for all of us and not only the honeybees but also many wild bee species are involved.

Bees provide honey

Even the ancient Egyptians appreciated the honeybee as the maker of the "sweet gold". How beekeeping has changed over time can be discovered at the edge of the forest: from the log hive to the bee skept to the magazine beehive that is in use today.

We have already visited the bee path in the Markus Wasmeier open-air museum Schliersee. Absolutely a worthwhile excursion, as you can see in the video!

On a journey of discovery with honeybee Pauline

But what about a beehive with tens of thousands of bees? What does it look like there? Who takes over which tasks and how can honeybees be kept close to nature?

 

 

Answers to these questions and even more you will find out on your journey of discovery with the honeybee Pauline. She tells you everything you always wanted to know about bees! With the museum app you can find out more interesting information at the individual stations. Would you like a little taste? Listen right now!  

The changing world of bees

What does a near-natural beekeeping look like? How do bees stay healthy and resilient? And how can they perform their task determined by nature, to pollinate plants, well?

 

Research projects such as those supported by the Audi Environmental Foundation are investigating these questions. Sometimes a look back into the world of the "forest bee" can help. A world in which many undiscovered surprises are still waiting.

Es summt und brummt: die faszinierende Welt der Bienen im Wandel der Zeit

Im Markus Wasmeier Museum erlebt man Bienen hautnah, ohne sie zu stören und kann gemeinsam mit der Honigbiene Pauline auf spannende Entdeckungsreise gehen.

14.09.2021 Lesezeit: 4 min

Im Markus Wasmeier Freilichtmuseum Schliersee wurde bereits vor einigen Jahren am Waldrand neben dem historischen Bienenhaus ein Stadel errichtet, der einen gläsernen Bienenstock beherbergt. Dort können die Besucher_innen ein lebendes Bienenvolk aus nächster Nähe beobachten, ohne dass sie die Tiere stören. Die umliegenden saftigen Bergwiesen und der nahe Waldrand bieten den Bienen gute Nahrungsquellen.

 

Nun sind weitere spannende Exponate dazugekommen, die die Geschichte der Imkerei veranschaulichen. Die Besucher_innen erleben die Welt der Bienen – vom ursprünglichen Lebensraum in Baumhöhlen im Wald über die historische Entwicklung der Bienenhaltung (u. a. Zeidlerei) bis hin zur modernen Imkerei – mit ihren aktuellen Problemen. Dabei werden auch neuartige Wege und Techniken für eine naturnahe Bienenhaltung vorgestellt.

Bienen bestäuben

Bienen sind aus der Natur nicht wegzudenken und für das Leben auf der Erde unabkömmlich. Sie fliegen von Blüte zu Blüte, sammeln Nektar und Pollen. Dabei bestäuben sie die Pflanzen. Eine für uns alle überaus bedeutende Aufgabe, an der neben der Honigbiene auch viele Wildbienenarten beteiligt sind.

Bienen liefern Honig

Schon die alten Ägypter schätzten die Honigbiene als Macherin des „süßen Goldes“. Wie sich die Bienenhaltung im Lauf der Zeit verändert hat, lässt sich am Waldrand entdecken: von der Klotzbeute über den Bienenkorb bis zur heute gebräuchlichen Magazinbeute.

Wir haben den Bienenpfad im Markus Wasmeier Freilichtmuseum Schliersee bereits besucht. Ein absolut lohnenswerter Ausflug, wie Ihr im Video sehen könnt!

Mit der Honigbiene Pauline auf Entdeckungsreise

Wie aber geht es zu in einem Bienenstock mit mehreren Zehntausend Bienen? Wie sieht es dort aus? Wer übernimmt welche Aufgaben und wie lassen sich Honigbienen naturnah halten?

 

 

Antworten auf diese Fragen und noch mehr erfahrt Ihr auf Eurer Entdeckungsreise mit der Honigbiene Pauline. Sie erzählt Euch, was Ihr schon immer über Bienen wissen wolltet! Mit der Museums-App könnt Ihr an den einzelnen Stationen weitere interessante Infos erfahren. Eine kleine Kostprobe gefällig? Hört gleich mal rein!

Bienenwelt im Wandel

Wie sieht eine naturnahe Bienenhaltung aus? Wie bleiben Bienen gesund und widerstandsfähig? Und wiekönnen sie ihren Aufgaben in der Natur, Pflanzen zu bestäuben, gut nachkommen?

 

Diesen Fragen gehen Forschungsprojekte nach, wie sie auch von der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt unterstützt werden. Bisweilen hilft auch ein Blick zurück in die Welt der „Wald-Biene“. Eine Welt, in der noch viele unentdeckte Überraschungen warten.