Audi Environmental Foundation and everwave at “Audi Summer Kids”

This year, "everwave", a project partner of the Audi Environmental Foundation, was part of the “Audi Summer Kids” program. Everwave’s mission is to extract plastic waste from rivers with the help of garbage collection boats before it enters the sea. Another important aspect of their work is environmental education, which is done by the everwave foundation.

Reading Time: 1 min

Audi Environmental Foundation and everwave at “Audi Summer Kids”: Workshop on the sensitive handling of water and waste

In workshops on water and plastic, they want to raise young people’s awareness of the topic. This summer, children of Audi employees at the Ingolstadt and Neckarsulm sites had the opportunity to take part in such a workshop, supported by the Audi Environmental Foundation.

In the introduction to the topic of water, the children learned how essential this resource is for life on earth and how valuable it is for us humans. At the same time, they learned that we are surrounded by plastic everywhere in our everyday lives. Therefore, it is important to avoid plastic waste because it stays in our environment for hundreds of years. 

 

In the practical part the children could prove their creativity and give things a 2nd life application in various upcycling lessons: They made a practical carrier bag out of an old T-shirt and a purse out of an empty Tetra Pak packaging. Good ideas that are also suitable as sustainable gifts, as you can make them at home without much effort.

 

The workshop ended with a joint plogging-event, where the children experienced that there is a lot of plastic waste lying around in the landscape. "Plogging" is a combination of jogging and collecting waste. Provided with large garbage bags, the children were on the way and collected the carelessly discarded garbage in the area.

 

The children were enthusiastically doing their work and finally took home not only their self-made treasures, but also a lot of new knowledge about our most important nutrient water and of waste prevention.

On our website there is more information about our cooperation with everwave and the joint cleanup mission:

Audi Umweltstiftung und everwave bei Audi Sommerkindern

Dieses Jahr war „everwave“, ein Projektpartner der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt, beim Programm der Audi Sommerkinder vertreten. Everwave hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Plastikabfälle mit Hilfe von Müllsammelbooten aus Flüssen zu holen, bevor sie ins Meer gelangen. Ein weiterer wichtiger Aspekt ihrer Arbeit ist die Umweltbildung, um die sich die everwave foundation kümmert.

Lesezeit: 1 min

Audi Umweltstiftung und everwave bei Audi Sommerkindern: Workshop zum sensiblen Umgang mit Wasser und Müll

In Workshops zum Thema Wasser und Plastik wollen sie junge Leute für das Thema sensibilisieren. In diesem Sommer konnten Kinder von Audi Mitarbeitenden der Standorte Ingolstadt und Neckarsulm an so einem Workshop, unterstützt von der Audi Umweltstiftung, teilnehmen.

In der Einführung zum Thema Wasser lernten die Kinder, wie essenziell diese Ressource für das Leben auf der Erde und daher auch ein kostbares Gut für uns Menschen ist. Zugleich erfuhren sie, dass wir überall in unserem Alltag von Plastik umgeben sind. Daher ist es wichtig, Plastikmüll zu vermeiden, denn er bleibt hunderte von Jahren in unserer Umwelt.

 

Ihre Kreativität konnten die Kinder im praktischen Teil beweisen und in verschiedenen Upcycling-Aktionen Dingen eine 2nd- Life Anwendung geben: So bastelten sie aus einem alten T-Shirt eine praktische Tragetasche und aus einer leeren Tetra-Pak-Verpackung eine Geldbörse. Gute Ideen, die sich auch als nachhaltige Geschenkidee eignen, da man sie auch zu Hause ohne viel Aufwand herstellen kann.

 

Dass sehr viel weggeworfener Plastikmüll in der Landschaft herumliegt, erlebten die Kinder beim gemeinsamen „Plogging“, das den Abschluss der Veranstaltung bildete. „Plogging“, das ist eine Kombination von Joggen und Müll sammeln. Mit großen Müllsäcken waren die Kinder unterwegs und sammelten den achtlos weggeworfenen Müll in der Umgebung ein.

 

Die Kinder waren begeistert bei der Sache und konnten schließlich nicht nur ihre selbstgemachten Schätze mit nach Hause nehmen, sondern auch viel neues Wissen über unser wichtigstes Nahrungsmittel Wasser und die Vermeidung von Plastikmüll.

Auf unserer Website gibt es mehr Informationen über unsere Zusammenarbeit mit everwave und die gemeinsame Cleanup-Mission: