Green projects for environmental protection: 10 years of the Audi Environmental Foundation

An evening full of ideas for a liveable future – innovative projects for sustainability & environmental protection were the focus of the 10th anniversary of the Audi Environmental Foundation.

11/13/2019

Every contribution counts!
Every contribution counts!

Around 220 guests attended the 10th anniversary event of the Audi Environmental Foundation and celebrated with the Foundation’s employees and fascinating keynote speakers on the topics of sustainability and environmental protection.

Peter Kössler, AUDI AG Management Board member with responsibility for production and logistics, and Christian Lösel, mayor of the city of Ingolstadt, praised the Foundation’s significance. However, the evening was not about patting ourselves on the back for our achievements; it was much more about the future and what action every individual can take to ensure a liveable future. Three experienced sustainability experts were on hand to provide ‘life hacks’.

Sustainably active for a future worth living

With Robert Marc Lehmann (marine biologist), Santa Meyer-Nandi (environmental blogger and well-being coach) and Felix Finkbeiner (founder of Plant-for-the-Planet), the evening was filled with concentrated (sustainable) expert knowledge on the topics of sustainability and environmental protection. In their impressive and, at times, emotional keynote speeches, the experts showed the audience the extent of the environmental destruction mankind has wrought to the environment and ecosystems. It wasn’t all bad news though; our speakers explained that although humans can destroy the environment, but they can also establish a sustainable way of life that is in harmony with the environment

Active for a future worth living. The foundation anniversary was marked by innovative ideas for sustainability and environmental protection.

Sustainability in everyday life makes you happy

Santa Meyer-Nandi cited concrete examples of this. Through her blog ‘ Finding Sustainia’, she runs so-called ‘sustainability challenges’ in which participants can integrate sustainability into their everyday lives. She powerfully demonstrated that sustainability can be both fun and rewarding.

Destruction and reconstruction of ecosystems

Felix Finkbeiner illustrated another idea. The 22-year-old was at primary school when he started the initiative ‘ Plant-for-the-Planet’, with the aim of planting one million trees in every country on earth. To date, over 13 billion have been planted. Felix explained vividly how planting as many trees as possible could regulate CO2 content again.

In his keynote address, marine biologist Robert Lehmann showed the audience dramatic and emotional pictures of the devasting impact on wildlife of plastic in our oceans. He used the example of birds on the North Sea island of Helgoland which are now forced to build their nests out of the discarded remains of plastic fishing nets, often with disastrous consequences for the birds’ welfare. It was a report that moved many in the audience and which was a wake-up call for us to question fishing with trawl nets and the use of plastics.

Greenovation – environmental protection through innovative technology

Besides the keynote speakers, the Foundation’s project partners also had the opportunity of introducing themselves in more detail to our guests in short presentations and during breaks. The projects that were presented demonstrated one thing in particular: ‘greenovation’. “That is the core, the identity of our projects. We combine environmental protection with the use of the latest technology”, said Dr Rüdiger Recknagel, the Audi Environmental Foundation’s chief executive.

For us at the Audi Environmental Foundation the anniversary evening was full of inspiration and showed especially clearly that sustainability and environmental protection are of increasing concern to people. That is why we will continue to contribute to this in the future and to generate enthusiasm for protecting the environment.

Grüne Projekte für den Umweltschutz: 10 Jahre Audi Umweltstiftung

Innovative Projekte für Nachhaltigkeit & Umweltschutz standen im Mittelpunkt des 10-jährigen Jubiläums der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt. Dabei erhielten die Gäste viele Ideen für Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltschutz im Alltag.

13.11.2019

Jeder Beitrag zählt!
Jeder Beitrag zählt!

Rund 220 Gäste kamen zum zehnjährigen Jubiläum der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt und feierten gemeinsam mit den Mitarbeitern der Stiftung und spannenden Keynotespeakern zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltschutz.

Peter Kössler, Vorstand der AUDI AG, Produktion und Logistik sowie Christian Lösel Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Ingolstadt, lobten den Stellenwert der Stiftung. Allerdings war der Abend nicht auf Schulterklopfen über die erbrachten Leistungen ausgelegt, sondern viel mehr auf die Zukunft und was jeder Einzelne für eine lebenswerte Zukunft aktiv tun kann. Für „Lifehacks“ sorgten dabei drei erfahrene Nachhaltigkeitsexperten.

Nachhaltig aktiv für eine lebenswerte Zukunft

Mit Robert Marc Lehmann (Meeresbiologe), Santa Meyer-Nandi (Umweltbloggerin und Well-Being Coach) sowie Felix Finkbeiner (Gründer Plant-for-the-Planet) war geballtes Expertenwissen rund um die Themen Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltschutz geladen. In den Keynotes der Experten wurde den Gästen das Ausmaß der Zerstörung von Umwelt und Ökosystemen durch den Menschen eindrucksvoll und emotional dargestellt. Allerdings wurde den Gästen aufgezeigt, dass der Mensch nicht nur Ressourcen zerstören, sondern auch eine nachhaltige Lebensweise im Einklang mit der Umwelt aufbauen kann.

10 Jahre Audi Stiftung für Umwelt – nachhaltig aktiv für eine lebenswerte Zukunft

Nachhaltigkeit im Alltag macht glücklich

Konkret führte Santa Meyer-Nandi Beispiele dafür auf. Sie betreibt über ihren Blog „ Finding Sustainia“ sogenannte „Nachhaltigkeits-Challenges“, bei denen Teilnehmer Nachhaltigkeit in ihren Alltag integrieren können. Sie zeigte eindrucksvoll auf, dass Nachhaltigkeit Spaß und glücklich macht.

Zerstörung und den Wiederaufbau von Ökosystemen

Eine weitere Idee zeigte Felix Finkbeiner auf. Der 22-Jährige startete in der Grundschule das Umweltprojekt „Plant-for-the-Planet“, dessen Ziel es war, eine Millionen Bäume in jedem Land der Erde zu pflanzen. Bis heute wurden 13 Milliarden Bäume weltweit gepflanzt. Finkbeiner erklärte anschaulich, dass sehr viele Bäume den CO₂-Gehalt wieder regulieren könnten.

In der Keynote des Meeresbiologen Lehmann wurde den Gästen mit dramatischen und emotionalen Bildern gezeigt, was Plastik in den Meeren bei Tieren anrichtet. Am Beispiel von Vögeln in Helgoland erkannten die Zuschauer, dass die Tiere ihre Nester mittlerweile aus alten Fischernetzten bauen müssen, was verheerende Auswirkungen für das Wohl der Tiere haben kann. Ein Bericht, der nicht spurlos an den Gästen vorbeiging und gleichzeitig ein Weckruf, die Fischerei mit Netzen und den Konsum von Plastik zu hinterfragen.

Greenovation – Umweltschutz durch neueste Technik

Neben den Keynotespeakern, hatten die Projektpartner der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt die Möglichkeit sich in Impulsvorträgen und in den Pausen der Veranstaltung dem Publikum näher vorzustellen. Die vorgestellten Projekte zeigten vor allem eines: Greenovation. „Das ist der Kern, die Identität unserer Projekte. Wir verbinden Umweltschutz mit dem Einsatz von neuester Technik“, sagte Rüdiger Recknagel, Geschäftsführer der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt.

Der Jubiläumsabend war für uns von der Audi Stiftung für Umwelt voller Inspirationen und zeigte besonders deutlich auf, dass Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltschutz die Menschen immer mehr umtreibt. Daher werden wir auch in Zukunft einen Beitrag dazu leisten und für Begeisterung im Umweltschutz sorgen.